Access World Forums

Access World Forums (https://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/index.php)
-   Word (https://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=54)
-   -   Generating a series of tables-as-forms (https://www.access-programmers.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=305283)

kilroyscarnival 05-30-2019 12:47 PM

Generating a series of tables-as-forms
 
1 Attachment(s)
Me again.

I've been asked to try to sort a way to get a lot of complex information into a report, where previously a table was on one page and a photo on the following. After a series of back-and-forth drafts, I've come up with each record going into a 1 x 3 table format, where the first cell of the larger table contains a detailed sub-table, the second is an unstructured format for adding longer paragraphs, and the third contains a picture control designed to make adding those site photos easy and keep the size uniform. An image of the table/subtable setup is attached, two to one page.

The left-cell table contains auto-numbering, some dropdowns and combo boxes to make selecting data quicker.

I've saved the 1x3 outer table as a QuickTable in Building Blocks, and then each of the three components also separately.

I'm trying to figure out a way to make it simpler to generate the shell of an entire report. For example, some reports will need 42 separate site tables, most of them tidy enough to fit two to an 11 x 17 page like the picture. Instead of having to have an engineer add 42 separate tables to the report, is there an easier way to do this?

1. Obviously I could create a document with fifty, and it'll be easier to delete the unused rather than add more.

2. I could create this as a mail merge document, and then a simple Excel table with the names and numbers of the sites could be merged, so that it creates the exact number needed. I like some of this idea, trying to think how the engineer would want to maybe rough out the whole thing in a simple Excel worksheet, then not have to retype their work. But do I then have to teach them how to mail-merge? Or do it for them each time?

3. I guess I could write some code, and ask for input on a form as to the number of sites, then have it add that number of tables.

Any ideas I haven't thought of?

theDBguy 05-30-2019 01:09 PM

Re: Generating a series of tables-as-forms
 
Hi. Would the report be bound to a specific table? Otherwise, what I think of when I look at the image you posted is a bunch of subreports.

kilroyscarnival 05-30-2019 01:31 PM

Re: Generating a series of tables-as-forms
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by theDBguy (Post 1625144)
Hi. Would the report be bound to a specific table? Otherwise, what I think of when I look at the image you posted is a bunch of subreports.

Oh, sorry, by "report" I meant the series of tables will be added to a Word document we term a report. It's not a report in the sense of MS Access. I actually wish I could use Access for some things - we don't even have it on our computers at this workplace. (I have it on my personal laptop.) Using Access, the report would generate only as many tables as there was data. All this stuff has to be typed in in Word.

theDBguy 05-30-2019 01:44 PM

Re: Generating a series of tables-as-forms
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kilroyscarnival (Post 1625149)
Oh, sorry, by "report" I meant the series of tables will be added to a Word document we term a report. It's not a report in the sense of MS Access. I actually wish I could use Access for some things - we don't even have it on our computers at this workplace. (I have it on my personal laptop.) Using Access, the report would generate only as many tables as there was data. All this stuff has to be typed in in Word.

In that case, I am not sure how you would prefer doing it, but I suppose all of that is very possible using Word Automation then. You could maybe start out with a template Word Document and then create a new doc based on the template. This is probably similar to how some Mail Merge code are done. I think there are some demos to show how it's done, if you want to give it a try.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World