Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Reports

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2019, 04:12 PM   #1
RKWM
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
RKWM is on a distinguished road
Upgrading from 2003 to 2019

I have finally had to break down and convert my 2003 Access database to the 2019 format. I AM MISERABLE.

What I need most help with right now is my custom toolbars for many of my reports. The database and it's macros were designed such that for certain reports one could open them, review them, choose to print them or chose to close them returning to the form that initiated the report to make corrections.

This was done by these types of reports having their own unique toolbars that included only the print and close buttons. The print button did nothing besides print the one report requested.

The close button, closed the report, opened the form that made the report, returned to the record the report was displaying.

The "Tab" for the custom toolbars is a disaster waiting to happen for those using the database.

Can anyone explain to me how I can make this workable in the 2019 Access? Thanks!

RKWM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 04:27 PM   #2
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,498
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,420 Times in 1,401 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Upgrading from 2003 to 2019

Hi. Not sure if this is what you want to hear, but the new way of creating custom menus is through custom ribbons. I think you can still continue to use your old custom toolbars, but they’ll still show in the ribbon, under the add ins tab. Another possibility is to create custom right click menus instead.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
RKWM (05-31-2019)
Old 05-31-2019, 04:56 PM   #3
RKWM
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
RKWM is on a distinguished road
Re: Upgrading from 2003 to 2019

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
Hi. Not sure if this is what you want to hear, but the new way of creating custom menus is through custom ribbons. I think you can still continue to use your old custom toolbars, but theyíll still show in the ribbon, under the add ins tab. Another possibility is to create custom right click menus instead.
Custom ribbons? Will they let you define actions on close? What I need to be able to do is to return to the form in the record that was appearing in the report.

Are there people that can be hired to fix problems with Access?

RKWM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 05:07 PM   #4
Micron
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,221
Thanks: 10
Thanked 229 Times in 217 Posts
Micron has a spectacular aura about Micron has a spectacular aura about
Re: Upgrading from 2003 to 2019

You might be a bit relieved to know that you can put your menu bar on the ribbon and hide most of the ribbon as long as your menu is robust enough for what users need. See image. I can't recall if I didn't know how to hide quick access bar or didn't bother or what - it's an old db. It's not obvious in pic but QA bar is there. Note that Admin is disabled because I didn't log in.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg expediterTbar1.jpg (11.3 KB, 18 views)
__________________
Sometimes I just roll my eyes out loud...
Windows 10; Office 365 (Access 2016)
Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 05:20 PM   #5
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,498
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,420 Times in 1,401 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Upgrading from 2003 to 2019

Quote:
Originally Posted by RKWM View Post
Custom ribbons? Will they let you define actions on close? What I need to be able to do is to return to the form in the record that was appearing in the report.

Are there people that can be hired to fix problems with Access?
Yes, basically, the old way of creating custom toolbars, like what you had for your report, is now done mostly with custom ribbons. Anything you can do with code, you can do with the ribbons. What sorts of problems you need to fix? Many of us here are available as private consultants. You can contact me via email if you want to see if I could help you (address is in my profile or website).
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 05:31 PM   #6
Micron
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,221
Thanks: 10
Thanked 229 Times in 217 Posts
Micron has a spectacular aura about Micron has a spectacular aura about
Re: Upgrading from 2003 to 2019

it doesn't sound like you need a custom ribbon to do what you're saying you want. Code on report close should be displaying form with the desired record.
Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 09:41 PM   #7
isladogs
High Noon Moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 11,262
Thanks: 115
Thanked 3,079 Times in 2,797 Posts
isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold
Re: Upgrading from 2003 to 2019

If yo open a report in print preview mode there is a built in ribbon that contains all the functionality needed for printing and a close button.
Suggest you look at that before you start creating something new

__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Common sense and a sense of humour are the same thing, moving at different speeds. (Clive James - RIP)
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 03:38 AM   #8
gemma-the-husky
Super Moderator
 
gemma-the-husky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 13,821
Thanks: 56
Thanked 1,030 Times in 996 Posts
gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all
Re: Upgrading from 2003 to 2019

Why don't you just continue to use A2003. You can get at the original 2003 toolbars from the add-ins menu on the ribbon?

You do not need to convert the database. (I am not sure but the toolbars MAY still be there in add-ins even if you convert to an accdb.)

Note that CTRL-F1 toggles the ribbon size

__________________
Dave (Male!)
Gemma was my dog

if a poster helps you, please click the scales at the bottom left of this posting, or use the thanks button alongside.
gemma-the-husky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Upgrading from 2003 to 2010 @stan General 8 03-02-2013 12:10 AM
Question Upgrading Access 97 to 2003 Rainbowhawk General 5 10-05-2011 09:50 PM
What are the problems when upgrading from 2003 to 2007? accesser General 6 10-06-2010 02:47 PM
Question Problems after upgrading from 2003 to 2007 Darrenc General 3 06-04-2010 04:03 AM
Access 97 upgrading to 2003 lemon_balm General 2 05-09-2006 06:09 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World