automatic data set creation (1 Viewer)

georg7

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 20:41
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
84
Hi there,
I've 3 tables (tbl_all, tbl_students, and tbl_tests)
I want a database to check if the students have done their Tests.
The amount in tbl_students shows how often the students have to do their Tests per year.
So my Goal is to create a form where I can select the Student and the test and it's automatic creates as many data sets as the amount is. Like amount(year) it'll create 1 data set. If it's quarter it'll create 4 data sets and if it's Monthly it'll create 12.
The Date should be year(01/01/2019), Quarter(01/01/2019,01/03/2019,01/06/2019,....) and Monthly (01/01/2019,01/02/2019,....).

Is this possible ?

best regards
Georg
 

Attachments

  • all.JPG
    all.JPG
    21.7 KB · Views: 90
  • student.JPG
    student.JPG
    18.1 KB · Views: 74
  • tests.JPG
    tests.JPG
    16.2 KB · Views: 89

Ranman256

Well-known member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:41
Joined
Apr 9, 2015
Messages
4,339
Make an append query to add the recs to ALL.
In the query ,bring in Students,and Tests and their dates.
Do not join the tables.
Run append.
 

isladogs

MVP / VIP
Local time
Today, 04:41
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
18,209
Why do you have 5 records for student 1 in the same year when they should be quarterly?
 

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 11:41
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
19,228
sample of what your intent.
 

Attachments

  • studentTest.accdb
    548 KB · Views: 86
Last edited:

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:41
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Messages
43,213
Creating empty records ahead of time isn't likely to be the correct solution. What happens if the frequency of a test changes? Do you delete the unused test records and add new ones or do you just leave the now invalid data hanging out there?

Do the students update this database themselves? If not, how do the tests get logged?

What process in the app looks for missed values?

There are methods to do all of this without pre-inserting records that may never be used.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom