Locked Down Database (1 Viewer)

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 13:01
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
11,638
How do I get access to the ribbon, tool-bar and right clicking? Holding shift when I open it isn't working.

F11 works, but right clicking doesn't do anything. There's one module in the thing, but I can't see anything because its password protected. How do I work with this thing?
 

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
Today, 19:01
Joined
Jul 9, 2003
Messages
16,272
Have you tried Ctrl F1 to show the Ribbon?
 

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 13:01
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
11,638
No luck with that either.
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 19:01
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,609
@Plog

1. open a new db
2. in a module create a sub with the following code to list properties and then change them

Code:
 sub openotherdb()
 dim odb as dao.database
 dim prp as properties
  
     set odb=dbengine.opendatabase(path to other db)
  
     'check which properties exist and their values
     for each prp in odb.properties
         debug.print prp.name;" ";prp.value
     next prp
  
     'check for AllowBypasskey - False disables the shift key
     'check for AllowSpecialkeys - False disables F11
  
     'to re-enable if they exist
     odb.properties("AllowBypasskey")=true
     odb.properties("AllowSpecialkeys")=true
  
     set prp=nothing
     odb.close
     set odb.nothing
  
 end sub
 

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 13:01
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
11,638
It won't compile, highlights the below line and says method/member not found:

  Debug.Print prp.Name; " "; prp.Value
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 19:01
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,609
sorry - that's the problem with freetyping!

dim prp as properties

should be

dim prp as property
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 19:01
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,609
@plog - did you get it to work?
 

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 13:01
Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
11,638
Not with your method. I was able to get a hold of the Module password and strip out all the startup code.
 

speakers_86

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 14:01
Joined
May 17, 2007
Messages
1,919
You might like the startup form I posted in the samples. It gives you a GUI for database properties you can get too easily.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom