Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2019, 10:54 AM   #16
Mikeb185
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mikeb185 is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

They were all set to yes when i checked and i changed them to no as you said?

Mikeb185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 10:56 AM   #17
Mikeb185
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mikeb185 is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

have tried that and still the same
Mikeb185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:06 AM   #18
arnelgp
error reading drive A:
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 8,390
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,699 Times in 2,584 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

instead of Macro, use Code Builder.
add code to FindSupplier combobox's AfterUpdate:
Code:
private sub FindSupplier_AfterUpdate()
    With Me.Recordsetclone
        .FindFirst "[CompanyName] = " & Chr(34) Me![FindSupplier] & Chr(34)
        If Not .NoMatch Then
            Me.Bookmark = .Bookmark
        End If
    End With
End Sub

__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:11 AM   #19
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 4,568
Thanks: 50
Thanked 1,048 Times in 1,029 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeb185 View Post
Company name appears 4 times on the sheet see pic.

I have changed all 4 to no but the error still exists
Hi. For a control to receive the focus, it needs to be a Textbox or Combobox, or Listbox or subform, etc. It can't be a Label, or other controls that can't receive the focus. In addition, the control to receive the focus must also be Visible and Enabled. So, if you set Visible=Yes, also make sure Enabled=Yes. Hope it helps...
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:11 AM   #20
Mikeb185
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mikeb185 is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnelgp View Post
instead of Macro, use Code Builder.
add code to FindSupplier combobox's AfterUpdate:
Code:
private sub FindSupplier_AfterUpdate()
    With Me.Recordsetclone
        .FindFirst "[CompanyName] = " & Chr(34) Me![FindSupplier] & Chr(34)
        If Not .NoMatch Then
            Me.Bookmark = .Bookmark
        End If
    End With
End Sub
Thanks, could you explain the steps to do this?
Mikeb185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:13 AM   #21
Mikeb185
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mikeb185 is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
Hi. For a control to receive the focus, it needs to be a Textbox or Combobox, or Listbox or subform, etc. It can't be a Label, or other controls that can't receive the focus. In addition, the control to receive the focus must also be Visible and Enabled. So, if you set Visible=Yes, also make sure Enabled=Yes. Hope it helps...
all are visable YES and enabled YES already unfortunatly
Mikeb185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:14 AM   #22
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 4,568
Thanks: 50
Thanked 1,048 Times in 1,029 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeb185 View Post
all are visable YES and enabled YES already unfortunatly
It might be time to consider posting a small copy of your db with some test/dummy data.

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:15 AM   #23
Mikeb185
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mikeb185 is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
It might be time to consider posting a small copy of your db with some test/dummy data.
thats fine,

How do i do that?
Mikeb185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:17 AM   #24
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 4,568
Thanks: 50
Thanked 1,048 Times in 1,029 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeb185 View Post
thats fine,

How do i do that?
Remove any sensitive data and replace them with dummy data. Do a C&R. Zip the file. Then when you reply to this post, click on the Manage Attachments button below the reply input box and upload your zipped file.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:18 AM   #25
Mikeb185
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mikeb185 is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

sorry but how would i remove the sensitive data?

I am completely new to this lol
Mikeb185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:22 AM   #26
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 4,568
Thanks: 50
Thanked 1,048 Times in 1,029 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeb185 View Post
sorry but how would i remove the sensitive data?

I am completely new to this lol
Ah, okay. It might be simpler to create a blank database file and then import the data definition into it.


1. Create a new blank database
2. Go to External Data tab and click on Import Access button
3. Select the original file and then pick all the tables. In the options, select Data Definition only
4. Select the rest of the objects such as queries, forms, macros, and modules from the original database
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:30 AM   #27
Mikeb185
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mikeb185 is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
Ah, okay. It might be simpler to create a blank database file and then import the data definition into it.


1. Create a new blank database
2. Go to External Data tab and click on Import Access button
3. Select the original file and then pick all the tables. In the options, select Data Definition only
4. Select the rest of the objects such as queries, forms, macros, and modules from the original database
Will this work if the database is split?

I mean it has 2 files i.e one is a backend
Mikeb185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:32 AM   #28
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 4,568
Thanks: 50
Thanked 1,048 Times in 1,029 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeb185 View Post
Will this work if the database is split?

I mean it has 2 files i.e one is a backend
No, maybe not. Let's try this for now, can you post a copy of the front end first? We just really need to see the form and the code. We'll worry about the backend later.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:34 AM   #29
Mikeb185
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mikeb185 is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

copy of the front end
Mikeb185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2019, 11:36 AM   #30
Mikeb185
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mikeb185 is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with converting database from 2003 to 2010

sorry now attached
Attached Files
File Type: zip database.zip (362.8 KB, 3 views)

Mikeb185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Converting an Access 2010 database to Excel molsen General 6 05-26-2015 06:33 AM
Converting 2003 to 2010 wilpeter General 14 05-17-2013 10:27 AM
Converting Access 2010 to 2003 Ani General 0 06-08-2012 06:08 AM
problem converting 2003 to 2010 baghian364 General 2 07-03-2011 02:14 AM
Need help with VBA, after converting from 2003 to 2010 problem with finding data hawaiianwarrior Modules & VBA 4 04-07-2011 12:35 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World