Go Back   Access World Forums > Apps and Windows > Word

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2019, 10:01 AM   #1
kilroyscarnival
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kilroyscarnival
Customizing ribbon and QAT on a shared work computer

At lunchtime, I cover the front desk in my office and log in as myself on the receptionist's computer, taking whatever desk work I can with me.

If I want to replicate some of my custom ribbon features, and Quick Access Toolbar, on her computer, those are user-specific, aren't they? When she comes back and re-logs in, she wouldn't have to put up with my custom additions, would she?

I like big macros and I cannot lie.

kilroyscarnival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 10:09 AM   #2
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 3,662
Thanks: 38
Thanked 890 Times in 873 Posts
theDBguy will become famous soon enough theDBguy will become famous soon enough
Re: Customizing ribbon and QAT on a shared work computer

Actually, probably not. Depending on how you're doing the customization. If you're using the menu from the ribbon to "customize" it, then I think it's machine specific. Meaning, after you're done and log out, the next user will still have to contend with your customization.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 04:57 AM   #3
kilroyscarnival
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kilroyscarnival
Re: Customizing ribbon and QAT on a shared work computer

Hmm, I think I'm going to tread lightly then. I suppose I could just try to work around it, and only temporarily add what I like. Most of the time I'm revising reports someone else has made from a variety of old reports used as templates, and it's mostly small typing revisions, and looking for formatting issues. A big repetitive issue is the outline containing blank lines from a line return, and I've learned having the "classic Styles" dropdown on the QAT is the easiest way to change a line from Level ! to Body Text on the fly. It's simple enough to pop on and off the toolbar, I guess, so I'm not leaving a mess of new gizmos.

kilroyscarnival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 06:37 AM   #4
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 3,662
Thanks: 38
Thanked 890 Times in 873 Posts
theDBguy will become famous soon enough theDBguy will become famous soon enough
Re: Customizing ribbon and QAT on a shared work computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by kilroyscarnival View Post
Hmm, I think I'm going to tread lightly then. I suppose I could just try to work around it, and only temporarily add what I like. Most of the time I'm revising reports someone else has made from a variety of old reports used as templates, and it's mostly small typing revisions, and looking for formatting issues. A big repetitive issue is the outline containing blank lines from a line return, and I've learned having the "classic Styles" dropdown on the QAT is the easiest way to change a line from Level ! to Body Text on the fly. It's simple enough to pop on and off the toolbar, I guess, so I'm not leaving a mess of new gizmos.
I'll let you know when I get a chance to verify it. Cheers!
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 07:08 AM   #5
Micron
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 803
Thanks: 10
Thanked 162 Times in 156 Posts
Micron will become famous soon enough Micron will become famous soon enough
Re: Customizing ribbon and QAT on a shared work computer

It always was user specific IIRC. You could see multiple folder trees per user on a shared computer but if you didn't have the admin capability you couldn't open those folders. Remember "Documents and Settings" folder? One for each user.
You could make a minor change and ask to see the effect when other person is logged in.
__________________
Sometimes I just roll my eyes out loud...
Windows 10; Office 365 (Access 2016)
Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 11:00 AM   #6
kilroyscarnival
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kilroyscarnival
Re: Customizing ribbon and QAT on a shared work computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Micron View Post
It always was user specific IIRC. You could see multiple folder trees per user on a shared computer but if you didn't have the admin capability you couldn't open those folders. Remember "Documents and Settings" folder? One for each user.
You could make a minor change and ask to see the effect when other person is logged in.
I know that's true about general Windows settings, but not sure how it works within Office toolbars, etc.

I did make some changes to the Building Blocks (added our letterhead headers and second-sheet background under Insert Headers) so that should be a relatively low-impact, and actually helpful, addition. We just don't work side by side a lot so I'll have to hang around when she gets back from lunch or make time.
kilroyscarnival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 11:18 AM   #7
kilroyscarnival
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kilroyscarnival
Re: Customizing ribbon and QAT on a shared work computer

So the answer seems to be, it's user specific.

I got to stretch my legs AND check on it.

Her QAT doesn't reflect the items I added, and her Insert Header doesn't have our letterhead options in it, and she's happy the way it is. I guess I can customize away!

Thanks all! And happy weekend!

Ann

kilroyscarnival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 11:26 AM   #8
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 3,662
Thanks: 38
Thanked 890 Times in 873 Posts
theDBguy will become famous soon enough theDBguy will become famous soon enough
Re: Customizing ribbon and QAT on a shared work computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by kilroyscarnival View Post
So the answer seems to be, it's user specific.

I got to stretch my legs AND check on it.

Her QAT doesn't reflect the items I added, and her Insert Header doesn't have our letterhead options in it, and she's happy the way it is. I guess I can customize away!

Thanks all! And happy weekend!

Ann
Hi Ann. Thanks for the update. It's very good to know. Cheers!
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 04:29 AM   #9
kilroyscarnival
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kilroyscarnival
Re: Customizing ribbon and QAT on a shared work computer

I should note that this may differ depending on how the overall system is set up, but as long as people have independent user log-ins and separate folders set up, I'm guessing these changes reside somewhere in a file that, along with my individual "normal.dot" template, resides in my user area.
kilroyscarnival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 03:44 PM   #10
Micron
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 803
Thanks: 10
Thanked 162 Times in 156 Posts
Micron will become famous soon enough Micron will become famous soon enough
Re: Customizing ribbon and QAT on a shared work computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by kilroyscarnival View Post
...I'm guessing these changes reside somewhere in a file that, along with my individual "normal.dot" template, resides in my user area.
Pretty sure they are Name.customUI or Name.officeUI where Name is a word related to the application: e.g. Word16.customUI.
Themes and templates are not kept there, but you'd be correct if you move up the folder tree all the way to your account name.

Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Micron For This Useful Post:
kilroyscarnival (05-14-2019)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Events don't work on a new computer petko Modules & VBA 2 05-04-2016 12:00 PM
ribbon customizing Wysy General 4 11-07-2015 01:58 AM
[SOLVED] VBA Code work on computer A, but not computer B c1bluemini General 28 04-08-2015 09:53 AM
Query does not work on one computer accessaspire219 Queries 2 06-22-2009 05:11 AM
will references work on every computer? qwertyjjj Modules & VBA 2 09-14-2006 12:52 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World