Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2018, 05:13 AM   #16
jaryszek
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 346
Thanks: 113
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jaryszek is on a distinguished road
Re: Refer and filter one subform as datasheet to another subform

Ha,

i did this! Very easy and working.

please find screen in attachment.

Best,
Jacek
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot_11.png (48.9 KB, 8 views)

jaryszek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 05:30 AM   #17
isladogs
Part time moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 7,382
Thanks: 92
Thanked 1,822 Times in 1,693 Posts
isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Refer and filter one subform as datasheet to another subform

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaryszek View Post
thank you Ridders52,
And not always your way is the best to design database, try to be open minded
I never said it was. All I said was I have a system which does work and according to you, yours didn't ... but from your last post it does again....????

You asked for advice. I offered it. Up to you whether you take my advice or not

Quote:
Uuu 10 nested subforms? O wow and you have to click again and again to expand them one by one? And input data? These are datasheet views?
Do you have any examples, i am interested to see this. I can learn something new.
I didn't say that either. I've just checked here and in fact you can 'ONLY' have up to 7 nested subforms (not 10)
I do have at least 3 levels of nesting in a few RARE cases but those are NOT datasheets
Nesting forms is not the same thing as using subdatasheets..
I rarely use subdatasheets as they are generally confusing for end users & cause a performance hit. In fact, I had already suggested you got rid of them

Quote:
My Customer wants to have all in one main form. And i have this for him.
A lot of subforms based on juntion tables and comboboxes. You can easily add all atributes and not clicking all the time to open another separete forms with another subforms. All in one place - very user friendly. And also working already one year without complaints.
Fine by me. Its your database. Do what your customer wants as long as it works


Quote:
Ok returning to issue:

I afraid that filtering can be change only via VBA - after selecting record on one subform i have to change recorset on subform and requery it. and thanks to it i can see expected result.
But you've solved that again have you?

Good luck with your project
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Previously known as ridders : Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by isladogs; 11-17-2018 at 05:44 AM.
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2018, 05:41 AM   #18
isladogs
Part time moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 7,382
Thanks: 92
Thanked 1,822 Times in 1,693 Posts
isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light isladogs is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Refer and filter one subform as datasheet to another subform

You asked for an example of complex forms - the attached screenshots show a form with 13 subforms.
It takes about 2 seconds to load despite its complexity

You can't see all details in design view but the subform on the left contains 3 subforms - 2 nested / one separate
Attached Images
File Type: jpg StaffHomePage.jpg (104.9 KB, 9 views)
File Type: png StaffHomePage - design view.PNG (53.0 KB, 7 views)

__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Colin
Previously known as ridders : Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by isladogs; 11-17-2018 at 05:50 AM.
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to isladogs For This Useful Post:
jaryszek (11-17-2018)
Old 11-17-2018, 05:55 AM   #19
jaryszek
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 346
Thanks: 113
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jaryszek is on a distinguished road
Re: Refer and filter one subform as datasheet to another subform

thank you Ridders,

nice solution. It is very similar to mine. And these subdatasheets are very fast in my database also. It takes the same time as in your model to load main form with a lot of paraller subforms linked to textboxes.

So differences are not that big as i thought
But good to know!

Yes problem is solved.

Best,
Jacek

jaryszek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Out of Conditional Format Options / Refer to subform of subform Insane_ai Forms 9 11-13-2018 11:49 AM
Generic way to refer to subform control in subform criteria bongbang Forms 20 12-31-2017 09:35 AM
[SOLVED] filter subform in datasheet view on dates equal or after today megatronixs Modules & VBA 7 05-07-2017 09:30 PM
Filter and unfilter subform(datasheet) based on combobox rheeyum Forms 10 03-28-2010 01:29 PM
In a subform, can a combobox query refer to a textbox in the subform? mondo3 Forms 0 03-09-2009 10:13 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World