Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Queries

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-16-2019, 05:10 AM   #1
HangoutGuy
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 28
Thanks: 18
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
HangoutGuy is on a distinguished road
Adding an Employees Data into a "Total" column

Hi all,

I was wondering if it were possible to make a calculated field or a query that will take all of an employees certain record and sum them all into a total that will be its own column.

For instance Employee 1 is working on Project 1 and Project 2 both with a 50% dedication of service to each project. Employee 1's Total column should add to 100%.

Employee 2 works on Projects 1, 2, and 3 with a 25%, 25%, and 20% dedication of service respectively which would mean their total column would say 70.

Is this possible, and if so what is the right course of action?

HangoutGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 05:24 AM   #2
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 14,248
Thanks: 86
Thanked 1,624 Times in 1,507 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Adding an Employees Data into a "Total" column

1. Is it possible? Yes. Queries are the typical way to format, reformat, add, average, or otherwise compute things from tables.

2. Is it the right course of action? Maybe not.

This sounds like you have a normalization issue depending on exactly how you are displaying your employee's project load assignments. If you have not previously done so, please read up on "database normalization" via web search. Initially, confine yourself to reading articles from the .EDU domain as they tend to be more technically correct yet are often written in clear language with minimal jargon.

You can also search this forum for issues of normalization. In this forum's search you don't need to specify "database" since this IS a database forum. For the more general web search, you need to include that qualifier because by itself, "normalization" can apply to math, politics, chemistry, and educational concepts.

If you have fields in your employee record with names like Project1, Project2, Project3, etc. then you have what is called a "repeating group." This is a common occurrence for anyone who used to work with Excel and is now trying to learn Access.
__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 06:39 AM   #3
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 4,134
Thanks: 46
Thanked 970 Times in 951 Posts
theDBguy will become famous soon enough theDBguy will become famous soon enough
Re: Adding an Employees Data into a "Total" column

Hi. If you have separate records for each employee/project combination, then this should be possible using a Totals query.

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to "flow" table data visually from column to another redridinghood Forms 18 07-14-2018 12:29 PM
If "TableA.FieldA" exists in "TableB.FieldB" then return "1" else "2" shdale Queries 8 10-29-2014 05:20 AM
Adding "attachments" field to table is "corrupting" it? starrcruise Tables 3 11-14-2011 06:39 AM
[SOLVED] Access front end can't edit SQL 2005 data after adding "Bit" field gfocaraccio SQL Server 3 08-04-2008 05:39 AM
Adding "st", "nd", "rd" to Numbers in Report mjseim Reports 3 08-21-2007 10:40 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World