Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Reports

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2017, 10:01 AM   #1
tsmithjr
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tsmithjr is on a distinguished road
Passing Query Criteria to subreports

I have a main report that is basically acting as a template. It contains no data itself but uses the Main query as the Record Source and Prompts the user with a Start and End Date request. Within the Main report are 4 Sub reports that are all using different queries built off the main query and other queries to gather data and complete the request. Everything is working fine with the data and reports except I have to enter the Start Date and End Date 5 times...once for each report.

I set the Link Master & Link Child Fields to the [Trans Date] field on all reports which is the field I'm entering criteria on hoping that would pass through the Date Criteria entered but that didn't work.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Tom

tsmithjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 10:37 AM   #2
pbaldy
Wino Moderator
 
pbaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 33,037
Thanks: 13
Thanked 4,064 Times in 3,999 Posts
pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold
Re: Passing Query Criteria to subreports

Most of us would use a form to gather user input. You have more control, and they only enter the values once.
__________________
Paul
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2019

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pbaldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2017, 06:45 AM   #3
tsmithjr
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tsmithjr is on a distinguished road
Re: Passing Query Criteria to subreports

Wasn't sure how to do this but it was very simple. Thanks for pointing me in that direction!

tsmithjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2017, 06:48 AM   #4
pbaldy
Wino Moderator
 
pbaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 33,037
Thanks: 13
Thanked 4,064 Times in 3,999 Posts
pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold
Re: Passing Query Criteria to subreports

No problem! I think you'll be happier in the long run.

__________________
Paul
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2019

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pbaldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
access 2016 , passing parameters , reports , sub report

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Passing Date Range Parameter to Multiple Subreports LBinGA Reports 2 11-04-2013 02:12 PM
Passing parameters to the subreports longjuly Modules & VBA 0 05-02-2007 10:57 AM
Passing parameters to multiple subreports hkinh_nguyen Forms 1 04-06-2007 07:57 AM
Passing criteria to a query scottappleford Queries 1 12-07-2005 01:57 AM
Passing Criteria to a Query BG Forms 0 04-12-2000 06:44 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World