Null and Is Null (1 Viewer)

mlr0911

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 17:11
Joined
Oct 27, 2006
Messages
155
How can I tell Crystal to pull records that have data in the field (is not null)?

I am pretty new to crystal and have been trying to put the criteria in the selection expert fields. Is this correct?

thanks for your help.
 

boblarson

Smeghead
Local time
Yesterday, 17:11
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Messages
32,059
You use the IsNull(fld) to start and just add NOT in front of it:
Not IsNull(fld)
 

mlr0911

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 17:11
Joined
Oct 27, 2006
Messages
155
Makes sense......thanks for your help. I was trying to put it at the end of my SQL.
 

pravin3032

New member
Local time
Today, 04:11
Joined
Apr 5, 2007
Messages
5
you can handel it in your SQL also ,
in where clause just add
column_name is not null

Bob what you suggest is it good to handel this case at SQL level or Report level if its filtering large records from my data??
 

boblarson

Smeghead
Local time
Yesterday, 17:11
Joined
Jan 12, 2001
Messages
32,059
The best way is to limit the records being pulled in the first place. So, if pulling from Access I typically had a query in Access and used that as my recordsource in Crystal, but you can set the select statement in Crystal to limit also.
 

halem2

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 20:11
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
180
you can also look at the Options and the Report Options and set Convert Null Values to default. For example when you do that and export to Excel, it gives you a 7 to 9 character number and the results of your reports vary depending on the settings.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom