Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Access Web

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-30-2017, 03:28 AM   #1
intefix
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
intefix is on a distinguished road
Access as frontend

Hello...
I have a file customers.accdb as application.
All is here except tables as linked from sharing intranet forder on win xp...
When use application more 3-5 ppls the app is very slow.
What is better method to convert that in sql linking tables?

I have installed a SQL express 2008 in win xp as server...but not show in ODBC connection...
Any help?

intefix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 05:55 AM   #2
Minty
AWF VIP
 
Minty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK - Wiltshire
Posts: 6,356
Thanks: 159
Thanked 1,706 Times in 1,676 Posts
Minty is a jewel in the rough Minty is a jewel in the rough Minty is a jewel in the rough
Re: Access as frontend

You'll have to make sure permissions are set on the database and server to allow access. Make sure you have a read of the basic set up guides on the net. http://sqlmag.com/sql-server/express...ack-end-access
__________________
If we have helped please add to our reputation - click the scales symbol on the left, tick 'I approve' and leave a comment.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Minty is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 05:56 AM   #3
Ranman256
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: KY,USA
Posts: 3,340
Thanks: 0
Thanked 737 Times in 722 Posts
Ranman256 will become famous soon enough Ranman256 will become famous soon enough
Re: Access as frontend

you must have the ODBC drivers for SQL express installed.

Ranman256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 02:15 AM   #4
intefix
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
intefix is on a distinguished road
Re: Access as frontend

Hello guys again.
I'm user Access as you know.
All my apps was splitting with Access 2k7 backend in localy server as remote folder and also Access 2k7 all things as client.
Now have users who want connect via internet to database with vpn.
I has migration mdb server database in MsSQL. All ok.
Also make new client with ODBC in server ok.
With a normal data 100.000 records new app with ODBC link tables is very very slow compare old way (external data, link tables in access)
What is better settings should I make to the Windows server to MsSQLexpress?
What code need to client side to relink to have better speed than now?
SERVER. Windows Server 2012 MsSQL 2017express
CLIENT Windows 2010 8Gram 8cores, Access 2013
Will make difficult for me to transform all that in PHP etc WEB way....
King Regards
intefix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 04:34 PM   #5
dynamictiger
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 261
Thanks: 11
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
dynamictiger
Re: Access as frontend

With a normal data 100.000 records new app with ODBC link tables is very very slow compare old way (external data, link tables in access)

Try optimising the queries for SQL
__________________
Perth, the most isolated capital in the world
dynamictiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 05:33 PM   #6
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 11,133
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,612 Times in 3,487 Posts
CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Access as frontend

you need to look at your router performance, perhaps it needs to have a higher capacity.

Also consider using terminal server or citrix or perhaps migrate your sql server to azure
__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 08:23 PM   #7
intefix
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
intefix is on a distinguished road
Re: Access as frontend

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ_London View Post
you need to look at your router performance, perhaps it needs to have a higher capacity.

Also consider using terminal server or citrix or perhaps migrate your sql server to azure
About Router: The same hardware use to both ways.
Also have other apps (Other products) who working perfect with more records.
I believe in my case need better setup in server side and better VB code in client side....


intefix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handling Update Access 2013 web Backend/Access Client Frontend OldMike Forms 2 06-02-2015 10:23 AM
MDE frontend + ACCDE frontend with MDB backend Bob Paul Forms 1 02-08-2014 05:16 PM
Access 2003 frontend and Access 2010 backend aman Modules & VBA 2 02-09-2012 05:01 AM
Convert Exisitng Access Database to Access Frontend MySQL backend DBnub11 SQL Server 12 04-01-2011 08:15 AM
Access frontend MarcusMaximus Theory and practice of database design 2 02-04-2009 06:30 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World