Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2008, 10:49 PM   #1
whitespace
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Preston, UK
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
whitespace is on a distinguished road
Problem with form to find and populate records

Hello, I'm trying to develop a staff/employee database and have run into a problem:

I have 3 main tables

tblEmployee (table of all employee basic details)
tblPost (table of all posts in the department)
tblEmployeeInPost (main table of employees and their assigned posts)

The prob is I need a form to populate the tblEmployeeInPost table - I want the user to be able to select the employee from combo box (showing various details from tblEmployee). I then want a subform(possibly) to display empty records in the tblEmployeeInPost table so that user can add entries in this (to keep a history of Employee posts and changes for example) - see attached screenshot - this is pretty much how I want it to look.

However this does not work, when I select a new employee from drop down the subform still shows same details and I can't seem to assign this to each employee. Does this make sense? The tblEmployeeInPost table has a link to tblEmployee on EmployeeID (one tblEmployee to many tblEmployeeInPost)?

Can anyone help with this?

Many thanks

Jen
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ExForm.JPG (95.8 KB, 80 views)

whitespace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 11:11 PM   #2
MStef
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Zagreb - Croatia
Posts: 2,251
Thanks: 0
Thanked 84 Times in 77 Posts
MStef will become famous soon enough MStef will become famous soon enough
Don't use a combo box (Employee) on na old record, (except if you want to change an employee name in this record). Use it on a new record, for a new employee. If you want to search any employee use a FILTER BY FORM icon.
MStef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 11:51 PM   #3
whitespace
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Preston, UK
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
whitespace is on a distinguished road
Thanks I think I've sorted it now - I simply just started again and inserted a sub form and access did the rest for me. I think the prob before was that I wasn't pulling in the EmployeeID to link on.

Cheers

whitespace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating new records within a filtered form mrFlibble47 Forms 6 04-30-2008 06:07 AM
Problem filling a form from drop-down- db attached WinDancer Forms 3 01-15-2008 09:25 AM
Pulling a value from a form to create new records in append query Liz A Forms 1 02-28-2006 08:07 PM
Populate all fields on a form based on a search string digital General 2 12-07-2004 10:33 PM
Find record in table and populate fields on form cliff7376 Forms 4 09-16-2002 01:36 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World