Go Back   Access World Forums > Apps and Windows > Excel

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2009, 01:13 PM   #1
option
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
option is on a distinguished road
Freeze top and bottom panes?

Hey guys,

Is it possible to freeze panes at the top and bottom of a sheet? Example: my workbook has its header in cells A1:F1 and that's locked. My data is entered below, and the totals are displayed in B256:F256. Is there a way to keep my header AND my totals frozen so the only thing you scroll through is where you enter data?

option is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 01:28 PM   #2
Brianwarnock
Retired
 
Brianwarnock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Merseyside England
Posts: 12,701
Thanks: 39
Thanked 547 Times in 529 Posts
Brianwarnock is a glorious beacon of light Brianwarnock is a glorious beacon of light Brianwarnock is a glorious beacon of light Brianwarnock is a glorious beacon of light Brianwarnock is a glorious beacon of light Brianwarnock is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Freeze top and bottom panes?

That would require 3 panes.

Can you mod the design to repeat the headings over the totals?

Brian
__________________
What is this life if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare

I do not have Access these days 2015
Brianwarnock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 05:33 AM   #3
qafself
Registered User
 
qafself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
qafself is on a distinguished road
Re: Freeze top and bottom panes?

As Brian says, put your totals at the top. You can't freeze panes other than at the top.

__________________
Ed
qafself is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 06:54 AM   #4
Brianwarnock
Retired
 
Brianwarnock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Merseyside England
Posts: 12,701
Thanks: 39
Thanked 547 Times in 529 Posts
Brianwarnock is a glorious beacon of light Brianwarnock is a glorious beacon of light Brianwarnock is a glorious beacon of light Brianwarnock is a glorious beacon of light Brianwarnock is a glorious beacon of light Brianwarnock is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Freeze top and bottom panes?

Thanks for correcting me Ed I said it the wrong way round.

Brian
__________________
What is this life if, full of care,
We have no time to stand and stare

I do not have Access these days 2015
Brianwarnock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 10:34 AM   #5
option
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 143
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
option is on a distinguished road
Re: Freeze top and bottom panes?

Thanks guys, I took your advice....which lead to a massive overhaul of the design (for the better!) and i love it!
option is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 10:45 AM   #6
qafself
Registered User
 
qafself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Posts: 119
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
qafself is on a distinguished road
Re: Freeze top and bottom panes?

Thanks for the feedback - feel free to post again if you have any problems.
__________________
Ed
qafself is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 11:17 AM   #7
chergh
blah
 
chergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,414
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
chergh will become famous soon enough chergh will become famous soon enough
Re: Freeze top and bottom panes?

you could have acheived a similar look to what you originally wanted by creating a second workbook and tiling them horizontally on the screen and copying the totals over programatically.

The advice from Brian and Ed to change the design is better, as you have found yourself, but tiling two workbooks would be another option.


__________________
I recommend these sites for excel help:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Form with 2 parts (top fields are static, bottom fields permit new records) gbuckton Forms 18 09-15-2008 10:45 AM
Is there a way to iterate from bottom to top of range? M_S_Jones Excel 9 09-02-2008 06:46 AM
Transpose Continuous Form to read Top to Bottom cardgunner Forms 6 04-02-2008 12:46 PM
tab form change layout top 2 bottom GaryPanic Forms 0 02-06-2007 06:58 AM
Selecting Top AND Bottom values x0reset Queries 3 12-23-2005 09:29 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World