Go Back   Access World Forums > Apps and Windows > Windows

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-14-2019, 07:27 AM   #1
Dick7Access
Dick S
 
Dick7Access's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Belleview, FL
Posts: 3,428
Thanks: 568
Thanked 39 Times in 37 Posts
Dick7Access is on a distinguished road
DB on opening Win 10

My wife wants me to set her computer up so that the Access 2016 calendar I made for her loads when she opens her computer. Is there a way to do that? I haven't found anything googling it.

Dick7Access is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 07:43 AM   #2
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 4,135
Thanks: 46
Thanked 970 Times in 951 Posts
theDBguy will become famous soon enough theDBguy will become famous soon enough
Re: DB on opening Win 10

Hi. Have you tried putting a shortcut to the database in the StartUp Menu?
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 07:46 AM   #3
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 10,227
Thanks: 513
Thanked 917 Times in 869 Posts
Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: DB on opening Win 10

I'm sure it could be done, and I'm sure someone will let you know! However there is an alternative which might be nearly as good and is straight forward.

Open your MS Access database, then open the Navigation Pane (usually on the left) --- click on the link for the particular form you want to open and drag it to your desktop. This will automatically create a special button on your desktop "A Microsoft Access Form Shortcut"...

Close MS Access, then press on that Shortcut/Button and it will open MS Access and that particular Form. Very simple and easy to do.

__________________
Code:
                 |||||
               @(~‘^‘~)@
-------------oOo---U---oOo-------------
|                                     |
|      Uncle Gizmo              |
|                                     |
|                                     |
| Get $20 worth of "Nifty Code"       |
|      
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| | Ooo | |_________________ooO____( )________| ( ) ) / \ ( (_/ \_)
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Uncle Gizmo For This Useful Post:
Dick7Access (08-14-2019), Gasman (08-14-2019)
Old 08-14-2019, 07:56 AM   #4
Gasman
Enthusiastic Amateur
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Swansea, South Wales,UK
Posts: 3,979
Thanks: 417
Thanked 714 Times in 693 Posts
Gasman has a spectacular aura about Gasman has a spectacular aura about Gasman has a spectacular aura about
Re: DB on opening Win 10

Then either copy the shortcut or that form that Tony has suggested to the startup folder for your wife's user account.

https://www.thewindowsclub.com/start...r-in-windows-8
__________________
Access novice. Sometimes trying to give something back.
Access 2007

Please, please use code tag # when posting code snippets

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gasman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Gasman For This Useful Post:
Dick7Access (08-14-2019), Uncle Gizmo (08-14-2019)
Old 08-14-2019, 08:50 AM   #5
Dick7Access
Dick S
 
Dick7Access's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Belleview, FL
Posts: 3,428
Thanks: 568
Thanked 39 Times in 37 Posts
Dick7Access is on a distinguished road
Re: DB on opening Win 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Gizmo View Post
I'm sure it could be done, and I'm sure someone will let you know! However there is an alternative which might be nearly as good and is straight forward.

Open your MS Access database, then open the Navigation Pane (usually on the left) --- click on the link for the particular form you want to open and drag it to your desktop. This will automatically create a special button on your desktop "A Microsoft Access Form Shortcut"...

Close MS Access, then press on that Shortcut/Button and it will open MS Access and that particular Form. Very simple and easy to do.
She has icons for everything she needs to get to. In fact I made her a db with great big cmd's to take her to whatever web site she wants to visit. She is in a nursing home, and is up in age her memory is going. She forgets to open her calendar. When I googled this I did read something about start up but I must have done something wrong. I will try it again.
Dick7Access is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 09:08 AM   #6
Gasman
Enthusiastic Amateur
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Swansea, South Wales,UK
Posts: 3,979
Thanks: 417
Thanked 714 Times in 693 Posts
Gasman has a spectacular aura about Gasman has a spectacular aura about Gasman has a spectacular aura about
Re: DB on opening Win 10

Make sure the calendar form in the DB is the startup form if you just put a shortcut in StartUp.
__________________
Access novice. Sometimes trying to give something back.
Access 2007

Please, please use code tag # when posting code snippets

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gasman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gasman For This Useful Post:
Dick7Access (08-14-2019)
Old 08-14-2019, 02:27 PM   #7
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 10,227
Thanks: 513
Thanked 917 Times in 869 Posts
Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: DB on opening Win 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gasman View Post
copy the shortcut or that form that Tony has suggested to the startup folder
Thanks Paul, I tried that it works!

__________________
Code:
                 |||||
               @(~‘^‘~)@
-------------oOo---U---oOo-------------
|                                     |
|      Uncle Gizmo              |
|                                     |
|                                     |
| Get $20 worth of "Nifty Code"       |
|      
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| | Ooo | |_________________ooO____( )________| ( ) ) / \ ( (_/ \_)
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 02:36 PM   #8
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 10,227
Thanks: 513
Thanked 917 Times in 869 Posts
Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: DB on opening Win 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dick7Access View Post
I googled this I did read something about start up but I must have done something wrong.
You can go directly to the Startup folder, just open any folder, replace the folder link? UNC? (I KNOW "PATH") With shell:startup and it will change the folder to the Startup folder.

Drag your link in to the Startup folder (the link created by dragging the Form Link from MS Access to the Desktop) When you start your computer it will open MS Access to that particular Form.
__________________
Code:
                 |||||
               @(~‘^‘~)@
-------------oOo---U---oOo-------------
|                                     |
|      Uncle Gizmo              |
|                                     |
|                                     |
| Get $20 worth of "Nifty Code"       |
|      
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| | Ooo | |_________________ooO____( )________| ( ) ) / \ ( (_/ \_)
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Uncle Gizmo For This Useful Post:
Dick7Access (08-14-2019)
Old 08-15-2019, 12:38 PM   #9
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 10,227
Thanks: 513
Thanked 917 Times in 869 Posts
Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: DB on opening Win 10

I thought the explanation would benefit from a video which I have uploaded to Nifty Access website here:- MS Access Form Loads on PC Startup

__________________
Code:
                 |||||
               @(~‘^‘~)@
-------------oOo---U---oOo-------------
|                                     |
|      Uncle Gizmo              |
|                                     |
|                                     |
| Get $20 worth of "Nifty Code"       |
|      
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| | Ooo | |_________________ooO____( )________| ( ) ) / \ ( (_/ \_)
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Closing opening Form with timer then opening Main Menu BillBee Forms 5 04-07-2014 10:00 PM
[access 2000] code runs when opening form but not when opening as subform ed_the_unlucky Modules & VBA 17 02-14-2008 05:45 AM
Opening an Access Program without Opening Microsoft Access wiltz General 6 06-12-2007 05:24 AM
Opening forms directly (instead of Opening MS ACCESS) Jatz_DA_WAY General 1 04-20-2006 07:50 AM
Opening MSAccess Form from Desktop shortcut without Access window itself opening goels Modules & VBA 2 10-07-2004 10:22 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World