Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2015, 06:56 AM   #1
nstratton
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: AL, USA
Posts: 85
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
nstratton is on a distinguished road
Button Display/Focus for a continuous form

I am curious how focus is set during a continuous form. I have a continuous form that displays the information from a user selection. The user has the option to not select any information, thus the creation of the continuous form.

I have a few hidden fields on my form and based on the value in those fields I want to display the corresponding buttons. The buttons appear when I click into a record, but then the buttons appear for every record. I currently have VBA to make the buttons visible in the form's OnCurrent event. Is there a way to limit the button appearance to the current record only and have them appear without having to click into the record?

If I understand the nature of continuous forms, there really is no way around having something appear for one record without it appearing everywhere. Of course I would like to confirm before I start making changes.

nstratton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 07:11 AM   #2
sneuberg
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 3,493
Thanks: 359
Thanked 959 Times in 929 Posts
sneuberg will become famous soon enough sneuberg will become famous soon enough
Re: Button Display/Focus for a continuous form

If I may piggy back on this thread, I'd like to know that too. We have a subform with continuous forms and we have a delete button on these forms which shows up on the new record. We put in code so that it doesn't do anything, but we like it not to appear.
sneuberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 08:21 AM   #3
Minty
AWF VIP
 
Minty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK - Wiltshire
Posts: 5,696
Thanks: 138
Thanked 1,532 Times in 1,504 Posts
Minty has a spectacular aura about Minty has a spectacular aura about Minty has a spectacular aura about
Re: Button Display/Focus for a continuous form

One method is to have the buttons in the header or footer and store the current records ID in the header / footer and base your actions on that , you can then hide / disable the single header buttons easily.

The other route on the detail line is to make a text box look like a button and use conditional formatting to make it "vanish" / "disabled"

__________________
If we have helped please add to our reputation - click the scales symbol on the left, tick 'I approve' and leave a comment.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Minty is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Minty For This Useful Post:
sneuberg (11-06-2015)
Old 11-06-2015, 08:36 AM   #4
sneuberg
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 3,493
Thanks: 359
Thanked 959 Times in 929 Posts
sneuberg will become famous soon enough sneuberg will become famous soon enough
Re: Button Display/Focus for a continuous form

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minty View Post
The other route on the detail line is to make a text box look like a button and use conditional formatting to make it "vanish" / "disabled"
Thanks, but I remember trying that and it worked so far as the making it appear and disappear, but there was something negative about using a text box as a button. I can't remember now what it was.
sneuberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 08:40 AM   #5
Minty
AWF VIP
 
Minty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK - Wiltshire
Posts: 5,696
Thanks: 138
Thanked 1,532 Times in 1,504 Posts
Minty has a spectacular aura about Minty has a spectacular aura about Minty has a spectacular aura about
Re: Button Display/Focus for a continuous form

Maybe use a label instead? I normally use the first method.
You can also use sub forms to get your buttons to the left or right of the data without them being on the form itself.
__________________
If we have helped please add to our reputation - click the scales symbol on the left, tick 'I approve' and leave a comment.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Minty is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Minty For This Useful Post:
sneuberg (11-06-2015)
Old 11-06-2015, 09:59 AM   #6
nstratton
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: AL, USA
Posts: 85
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
nstratton is on a distinguished road
Re: Button Display/Focus for a continuous form

So I'm storing the buttons in the footer with a textbox storing the current record ID. Is there a way to change the record using the MouseWheel event or something similar? I'm thinking the end user is not going to think to click in the record area to make the record change. That's the only way I can get to change as of now at least.
nstratton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 10:43 AM   #7
smig
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,879
Thanks: 48
Thanked 129 Times in 120 Posts
smig is on a distinguished road
In a continous form all buttons have the same name so there is no way to work on a single button.
Best way, as Minty said is using a textBox or label with conditional formating.

smig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 11:02 AM   #8
gemma-the-husky
Super Moderator
 
gemma-the-husky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 13,462
Thanks: 51
Thanked 949 Times in 918 Posts
gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all
Re: Button Display/Focus for a continuous form

I have a few continuous forms where various fields get enabled/disabled according to the row. When you click the row, all rows change. User get used to the behaviour really quickly with no problems. If they click on row 4, all they want is row4. They aren't really bothered what row 3 and 5 show.
__________________
Dave (Male!)
Gemma was my dog

if a poster helps you, please click the scales at the top right of this posting, or use the thanks button alongside.
gemma-the-husky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 11:22 AM   #9
nstratton
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: AL, USA
Posts: 85
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
nstratton is on a distinguished road
Re: Button Display/Focus for a continuous form

The buttons I am wanting to show will eventually open a document based on what is in the record. So the idea I was having was if the user does not select any criteria then the full list displays (obviously) and as they are scrolling through be able to see which documents can be opened (i.e. buttons show).

Of course now that I spell it out, it sounds like I could use a text box and use the double-click event to make it happen since that ensures it is record specific and will show like I want. Buttons just look better than text boxes which seems to be my main hangup.
nstratton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2015, 11:31 AM   #10
smig
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,879
Thanks: 48
Thanked 129 Times in 120 Posts
smig is on a distinguished road
There is no way to put a subform on a continous form.
What I do is creating creat as topform we ith two subforms. One is the continous one and the other one is the 'subform'. I send the selected record to the topform and the 'subform' is updated based on this. You can show all record's details and put your button here.

smig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
access 2010 , button , continuous form , focus

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
display button on selected record in continuous form eugz Forms 2 11-01-2014 10:26 AM
Display button or not in a row in continuous forms gadjet Forms 14 01-22-2009 02:46 PM
How to check first record has focus on continuous form mattkorguk Forms 3 09-07-2007 08:42 AM
Continuous Form Record Focus Phalanx Forms 3 12-29-2004 02:24 PM
continuous form focus fumble thewiseguy Forms 4 05-20-2004 05:58 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World