Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Access Web

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2017, 06:00 AM   #1
jrantala
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jrantala is on a distinguished road
Can I link an Access database in Drupal?

Good morning from Minnesota in the US!

I have a fairly complex Access database that is broke into a BE and FE. I am an amateur that is quite good in Access, but I'm not a developer.
  • There are about 200 tables and queries, and 15 or so forms.
  • Moving the FE to a WebApp is not an option.
  • Once implemented, I anticipate we will have between 10-100 users.
  • SQL server is not an option.

I currently have the BE in Access, but have help in moving the data tables to an Oracle server. The FE will stay in Access to minimize hours in re-working the forms.

In another organization I worked for, I used this same database and posted it to a SharePoint site. This worked pretty well for persons inside and outside of the organization to access and use the database. But now I don't have that option -- both because the new organization doesn't 'do' SharePoint, and because apparently MS doesn't support that functionality in the new SP.

So far, I have investigated:
(1) Hosting the FE on an in-house server and using VPN to access the database.
Con: My understanding of VPN is that I can have two users signed in at the same time to the server -- but that if both sessions are 'open', other users cannot get in. If people don't log out (or I have more than 2 at a time) causing both sessions to be unavailable, I would have to have the server re-booted to free up the session. Based on my user population, I predict that this will happen a lot.

(2) Distributing the FE locally to each user and then using our standard server access to hit the BE.
Con: I'm afraid that I will lose control of versioning and headaches involves with tracking who has what version. Maybe that's not a legitimate concern.

(3) What about 'posting' a link on my Drupal webpage that will open the FE?

Questions:
  • Is this type of file able to be linked in Drupal?
  • If it can be linked, is this an 'out of the box' solution, or do I need a developer?
  • If possible technically, would I run into the same VPN issues described by (1), above?

Can anyone think of other suggestions, or offer thoughts about why my thinking on the cons might be faulty? Maybe my 'con' isn't that big of a deal.

Remember that going to a WebApp is not an option, nor is an SQL server.

Thanks for any insights you may have!

Julie


jrantala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 06:40 AM   #2
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 10,465
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,381 Times in 3,276 Posts
CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice CJ_London is just really nice
Re: Can I link an Access database in Drupal?

option 2 is the way you should go. You should never have multiple users sharing the same front end. Among other things you run the risk of corruption. I cannot think of any application in any language where users share the same front end. Just because you can do it in access is not a reason for doing it. Every user should have their own copy of the front end on their machine.

Version tracking becomes a requirement but not difficult to do - plenty of threads on this and other forums for different ways of doing it. It is certainly not a legitimate concern.
__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CJ_London For This Useful Post:
jrantala (11-02-2017)
Old 11-02-2017, 08:14 AM   #3
jrantala
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jrantala is on a distinguished road
Re: Can I link an Access database in Drupal?

Thank you. I appreciate the reply.

jrantala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2017, 07:00 AM   #4
shadow9449
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 947
Thanks: 6
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
shadow9449 will become famous soon enough shadow9449 will become famous soon enough
Re: Can I link an Access database in Drupal?

I am not clear on the specific concern about version. Assuming that you want all users to have the same version of the FE when it gets revised, a solution that's worked for me that is very simple is to put a shortcut to a batch file in the startup folder of each client computer.

So, assuming that I put the Access application front end in C:\MyDbFE, I put a batch file in there that simply says:

Code:
copy \\path_to_server\MyDB.mdb C:\MyDbFE\MyDB.mdb /Y
Any time I want to revise the FE, I put the updated version on the server. Then to deploy to all users, I create a shortcut to the batch file and put that into the Windows startup folder:

- To find the startup folder for the local user open Run and then enter Shell:startup
- To find the startup folder for ALL users of the computer enter Shell:Common Startup

Then every time users log into Windows, the front end updates automatically. It takes less than a second every morning and that way it's no extra effort for me to deploy 100 copies of the FE than it does 1 copy. Another bonus to this is that I know a lot of developers put temporary tables into another linked local database to prevent database bloating. In my approach, since the FE gets updated with a fresh copy every morning it never gets bloated.

The only concern is if people just leave their computers on and logged in all the time. In that case, I solve it by replacing the shortcut to the FE with a shortcut to the batch file and put in an extra line that launches the FE after it's been replaced.

Good luck!

SHADOW

shadow9449 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I link to tables in an access database on a web server? MatMac Tables 1 09-03-2009 07:08 PM
Mysql database link to access problem Russ9517 Tables 9 06-11-2008 05:25 AM
Function to Link to a Database -- SQL from Access btp111 Modules & VBA 8 05-13-2008 05:14 AM
Link to website (MS Access database) aalkor Tables 2 09-20-2005 11:39 PM
Link Access database table to another Access Database fish_petefish Tables 0 07-22-2002 11:41 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World