Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Access Web

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2018, 12:28 PM   #1
JoseO
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 62
Thanks: 34
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JoseO is on a distinguished road
The proverbial: Where do I put my BE?

Hello folks,

I got into access about 2 1/2 years ago and I am hooked! Love this program.

I have split DBs here at work with ease due to the network infrastructure allowing me to simply place my BE in a windows standard folder and simply link my FE to my BE with a simple DNS address - no problem.

Now, I am starting to use Access more at home and would like to split my DBs but I yet to really understand how to migrate my BE to the plethora of choices I keep reading about: Azure, SQL Server Express, etc.

Would someone be kind enough to point me to the "Fisher Price" way to begin doing this - really, you won't insult me. I really would like to approach/learn this as though I am a two year old being told what to do.

Thank you

JoseO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 04:31 AM   #2
Frothingslosh
Premier Pale Stale Ale
 
Frothingslosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Flint, Michigan, USA
Posts: 2,911
Thanks: 74
Thanked 404 Times in 365 Posts
Frothingslosh will become famous soon enough Frothingslosh will become famous soon enough
Re: The proverbial: Where do I put my BE?

Well, first of all, you can use another Access file as a back-end; that's actually the easiest method. The other options are certainly viable, however.

Now, regardless of which back-end you use, however, if you're doing it manually, you link to the back-end via whichever 'External Data' option your version has. For 2007 or later, it's a tab on the ribbon labeled 'External Data'. Then you click on either the visible button for what you want to pull data from (on mine, they are Access, Excel, SharePoint List, Text, and XML File), or if it doesn't appear, on 'More'.

The 'More' button pulls up a plethora of other options. If you want to hook into SQL Server, you use 'ODBC Database'.

You'll be given the option to either import or link the data - select link.

Now, for Access, you'll be given a standard Open File window. Navigate to the .accdb or .mdb file you plan on using for your back end. Double click it, then select the tables you want to link to, then Ok. Voila, you now have a front end and a back end.

For SQL, for manual connections, you'll need a DSN. You can create them by searching Windows (start menu for 7, search bar for 10) for 'ODBC', then running the Data Sources (ODBC) file that comes up. (The specific file name is odbcad32.exe.) You'll see a list of existing data sources - if the one you want isn't there, then select 'Add'. You'll get a list of drivers - you want whichever version of SQL Server Native Client you get. Click Finish, and a wizard opens up.

Fill in the Name (how you want it to show in the DSN list), a description (which I have never seen used), and the server name (which was created when the server was set up).

The next screen lets you choose between making the user login, or using Integrated Windows authentication, which is a fancy way of saying that the user's login ID is passed to SQL server, and the server checks the assigned rights itself. It's faster and less annoying than server authentication (where users supply login and PW), but more secure.

The next screen allows you to set the default database (it defaults to 'master'), and gives a few options. Leave them alone unless you are quite familiar with the program.

The screen after that is even more options, and again, just leave them alone until you're more familiar with SQL Server.

Then press Finish, and a confirmation screen with a data summary comes up. I'd always recommend using the Test button to make sure the connection works. You can also either save it or cancel.

That said, you'll also need to become familiar with whichever backend system you've chosen to use. VERY familiar.
__________________
This is a test.
This is only a test.
If this were a real emergency, you would NOT have been informed, and we would have fled screaming in terror.
Frothingslosh is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Frothingslosh For This Useful Post:
JoseO (02-27-2018)
Old 02-27-2018, 09:08 AM   #3
Gasman
Access newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Swansea, South Wales,UK
Posts: 2,398
Thanks: 291
Thanked 374 Times in 359 Posts
Gasman has a spectacular aura about Gasman has a spectacular aura about
Re: The proverbial: Where do I put my BE?

I split one of my home databases a good while back, but just to see how to do it.?

If it only for home use and single user?, then I would probably leave as it is unless size was also an issue?

My split DB BE exists in the same folder as the FE.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoseO View Post
Hello folks,

I got into access about 2 1/2 years ago and I am hooked! Love this program.

I have split DBs here at work with ease due to the network infrastructure allowing me to simply place my BE in a windows standard folder and simply link my FE to my BE with a simple DNS address - no problem.

Now, I am starting to use Access more at home and would like to split my DBs but I yet to really understand how to migrate my BE to the plethora of choices I keep reading about: Azure, SQL Server Express, etc.

Would someone be kind enough to point me to the "Fisher Price" way to begin doing this - really, you won't insult me. I really would like to approach/learn this as though I am a two year old being told what to do.

Thank you

__________________
Access novice. Sometimes trying to give something back.
Access 2007
Gasman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gasman For This Useful Post:
JoseO (02-27-2018)
Old 02-27-2018, 09:41 AM   #4
Ranman256
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: KY,USA
Posts: 3,072
Thanks: 0
Thanked 674 Times in 659 Posts
Ranman256 will become famous soon enough Ranman256 will become famous soon enough
Re: The proverbial: Where do I put my BE?

BE on a server,
FE to each user, usu on their personal server folder, for easy distribution.
Ranman256 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ranman256 For This Useful Post:
JoseO (02-27-2018)
Old 02-27-2018, 10:36 AM   #5
JoseO
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 62
Thanks: 34
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JoseO is on a distinguished road
Re: The proverbial: Where do I put my BE?

Thank you to all for your valuable feedback. I apologize for the late reply but it wasn't until Ranman256 replied that I received an email notification.

Again, thank you all for your feedback.

JoseO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World