Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-17-2017, 08:03 AM   #1
Gismo
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 184
Thanks: 91
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gismo is on a distinguished road
Goto new record

Hi all, need some I have advise please, I have 2 subforms, link with parent / child. top data sheets displays related record in bottom single form. update works perfect. problem is I need to click a button to goto new record. error is you cant goto specified record. if I go to the query it shows new line and not at the end of a record set so that scenario is out. what else could I look for?

Gismo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 09:32 AM   #2
Ranman256
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: KY,USA
Posts: 2,862
Thanks: 0
Thanked 623 Times in 608 Posts
Ranman256 will become famous soon enough
Re: Goto new record

the subform should show an empty row (the ready new record )
the record selectors should show a * tool to add new records
and if you cannot add new records by typing in the fields, then the subform may be setup wrong.

the subform should link to parent to allow records.

the query for the subform cannot be many tables, it should be only 1 table to add child recs.
any extra tables can prevent entry.
Ranman256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 10:00 AM   #3
Gismo
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 184
Thanks: 91
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gismo is on a distinguished road
Re: Goto new record

The subform is from only one table and it also shows the * for new record. I can add a new record when using record selector on new record. Don't think I have a problem with the setup. It just does not go to a new record when button is clicked. not sure what else to look at

Gismo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Test for last Record , GoTo First Record, else GoTo Next Record, Keith Nichols Forms 7 03-21-2014 03:34 PM
goto next record exaccess Forms 8 04-24-2013 02:49 PM
GoTo last record in Table rather than last record in Form using VBA wchelly Modules & VBA 20 01-24-2013 10:41 PM
GoTo last record, copy it, and create new record dj59 Modules & VBA 1 01-15-2013 02:03 PM
Save referenced record and goto duplicate record? Kila Forms 24 01-23-2004 02:48 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World