Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-24-2014, 09:27 AM   #1
guinness
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 249
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
guinness is on a distinguished road
Make one combo list depend on another

Aaaaargh!!!!

I hope someone can help. I've done this a million times and it always gives me grief.

I have a combo: cmb_TrainingType. The sql is:

Code:
SELECT tblTrainingType.TypeID, tblTrainingType.Type FROM tblTrainingType ORDER BY tblTrainingType.Type;
My second combo (the one that should be filtered based on the Type chosen above) is cmb_Project_Title. The sql I have written (which isn't working) is:

Code:
SELECT tblCourseDetails.CDID, tblCourseDetails.Project_Title FROM tblCourseDetails WHERE (((tblCourseDetails.TypeID)=Forms!frmResourcing.cmb_Training_Type) And ((tblCourseDetails.Type)=Forms!frmResourcing.cmb_Training_Type)) ORDER BY tblCourseDetails.[Project_Title];
Both of the tables that are referenced have the fields TypeID and Type.

I'm really hoping someone can point out the error of my ways.

Cheers

guinness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 08:11 AM   #2
XV1957
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 80
Thanks: 50
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
XV1957 is on a distinguished road
Re: Make one combo list depend on another

Is it normal that you are using Forms!frmResourcing.cmb_Training_Type) in your second combo. Should the first = statement not refer to training_typeID?
XV1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subtract value from combobox depend on value in other sashless Forms 3 02-26-2014 10:27 AM
Make combo box contents depend on another field lugosi Forms 2 02-10-2011 03:13 PM
dropdown list to depend on other field ianking Tables 93 09-18-2008 04:18 PM
Product Depend Combo-boxes Wiggy Forms 1 03-26-2007 12:34 AM
Can I make a Combo Box always show the first value in the list homer2002 Forms 1 09-05-2002 08:29 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World