Help with Tables / Forms (1 Viewer)

OrangeEDC

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:16
I am trying to create a Contact List that allows me to track incoming requests for support.

I anticipate the following fields:

ContactID
First Name
Last Name
Address
Phone
Fax
Date of Contact

Purpose of Contact
Action Taken

I expect that the same contact will call several times. Therefore, I don't want to have to input the Contact info everytime. If John Jones calls 3 times, I need to make sure that the contact John Jones is only listed 1 time, but that his calls (3) are listed each time.

I am having the hardest time figuring this out. I am just starting to learn Access in depth.

Thanks

bjackson

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 23:46
perhaps you should look at your table set up

you need a table of contacts

ContactID
First Name
Last Name
Address
Phone
Fax

then a table of say Actions

ActionId
ContactId
Date of Contact
Purpose of Contact
Action Taken

relate the tables 1 to many using ContactId

OrangeEDC

Registered User.
Local time
Thank you!

I will try this out immediately!

OrangeEDC

Registered User.
Local time
bjackson,

Thank you for the assistance. I prepared the tables as you suggested and I populate the tables through a form (I used the design wizard).

The tables are set up as follows:

Contact ID
First Name
Last Name
Address
Phone Number

Reference ID
Purpose
Action
Date of Call

The problem I have is with this is:

If John Jones calls (first time) I use the form and type in all his contact information. Lets give John Jones the Following Data

Contact ID {6}
First name: John
Last Name: Jones
Address: 13 Washington Avenue
Phone Number: (201)555-1212

Reference ID {13}
Purpose: Called for property listing information
Action: Sent property listing to Mr. Jones for all properties in excess ofd 10,000 s.f.
Date: March 1, 2003