Go Back   Access World Forums > Apps and Windows > SQL Server

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2018, 01:24 AM   #16
Minty
AWF VIP
 
Minty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK - Wiltshire
Posts: 5,540
Thanks: 133
Thanked 1,495 Times in 1,467 Posts
Minty has a spectacular aura about Minty has a spectacular aura about Minty has a spectacular aura about
Re: Pass Through Query

SQL Views can be updateable, depending on how they are set up. I would look there to start with.

If you open the view in SSMS does it also lock the tables? If so then that's your problem.

__________________
If we have helped please add to our reputation - click the scales symbol on the left, tick 'I approve' and leave a comment.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Minty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 01:34 AM   #17
NotAnExpert
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 25
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
NotAnExpert is on a distinguished road
Re: Pass Through Query

Hi Minty, can you explain what you mean by this please? I assume you mean opening the view from the SQL Studio Management screen and seeing if that alone causes the hang up?
NotAnExpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 04:00 AM   #18
Minty
AWF VIP
 
Minty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK - Wiltshire
Posts: 5,540
Thanks: 133
Thanked 1,495 Times in 1,467 Posts
Minty has a spectacular aura about Minty has a spectacular aura about Minty has a spectacular aura about
Re: Pass Through Query

Yes - that was the jist of it.
If the view is editable then I would think it might cause a record lock, but I don't know why.

Normally in SQL server it takes considerable "talent" to lock up an entire table, in fact I'm not sure, short of applying a table design change, how you would achieve that by just querying the data.

It might be some devious / badly designed/ in-built behaviour of the Sage system?


__________________
If we have helped please add to our reputation - click the scales symbol on the left, tick 'I approve' and leave a comment.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Minty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Performance of a Query Based on Linked Tables Compared to a Pass-Through Query Steve R. Theory and practice of database design 8 05-29-2013 05:44 AM
Pass through query to SQL Stored Proc, pass parameter urir10 Queries 1 10-03-2012 10:29 AM
Pass text box value to Access Pass Thru Query bconner Modules & VBA 3 02-16-2012 01:41 PM
Pass through within a pass through query skwilliams Queries 0 06-22-2011 07:18 AM
Procedure works Great First Pass, but Not the Second Pass quest4 Forms 8 07-15-2005 11:02 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World