Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Reports

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-24-2013, 04:12 PM   #1
Gramps
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gramps is on a distinguished road
Labels on both columns of a report

Hi All,

Hope you can help solve this strange one. I have searched the web on this topic and have not found any real useful information.

I have a report, a phone list, which has two columns, see the attached file for a screen shot.

The Employee Name, Mobile Phone and Desk Phone text is in the "Page Header". The Data fields that retrieve from the table are in the "Detail" section. The whole report is 8.89cm wide. The two columns fit perfectly across a portrait A4 sheet.

When I run the report to Print Preview, I get the two columns fine, but the Employee Name, Mobile Phone and Desk Phone text doesn't repeat at the top of the second column. Is there some way of achieving this? I want the part I have circled in RED to appear over the top of the second column as well.

I would have thought there would be a simple check box somehwere that would be something like : "Repeat Page Header on multiple columns", or something as equally useful. Strange that this is so difficult to do, as am sure that this sort of thing is something that lots of people would want to do?

Any ideas?
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled.png (7.1 KB, 35 views)


Last edited by Gramps; 08-24-2013 at 04:25 PM. Reason: Spelling corrections
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 09:45 PM   #2
JHB
Have been here a while
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: In the south of Denmark (Jutland), near the German border.
Posts: 7,720
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2,082 Times in 2,037 Posts
JHB has a spectacular aura about JHB has a spectacular aura about
Re: Labels on both columns of a report

Add a grouping to the report ex. "Employee Name", move "Employee Name, Mobile Phone and Desk Phone" text controls into the added grouping header, set the property "Repeat Section" for the grouping to "Yes".
__________________
If the above post has helped you, why not take the time to say thank you, by pressing the "Thumbs up."
JHB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 09:55 PM   #3
Gramps
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gramps is on a distinguished road
Re: Labels on both columns of a report

Thanks for the reply JHB.

While I was waiting for someone to reply, I had a play with that exact scenario. The attached screen shot shows the result. It repeats the Group Header for EACH entry. Is there another option somewhere that I have to set to make it only do it at the top of the page and at the beginning of a new column?
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled.png (18.0 KB, 29 views)

Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 10:14 PM   #4
Mihail
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Romania
Posts: 2,373
Thanks: 90
Thanked 368 Times in 363 Posts
Mihail is on a distinguished road
Re: Labels on both columns of a report

Quote:
Originally Posted by JHB View Post
Add a grouping to the report ex. "Employee Name", move"Employee Name, Mobile Phone and Desk Phone" text controls into the added grouping header, set the property "Repeat Section" for the grouping to "Yes".
If you will follow JHB's advice all should be OK.
__________________
Mihail
I'm looking for a job !
Very good technical skills on Metal Sheets:
Design (SolidWorks), Programming/Operating machines (Cutting, Bending, Punching)
Mazatrol for turning machines
Mihail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 10:28 PM   #5
JHB
Have been here a while
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: In the south of Denmark (Jutland), near the German border.
Posts: 7,720
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2,082 Times in 2,037 Posts
JHB has a spectacular aura about JHB has a spectacular aura about
Re: Labels on both columns of a report

Try as I suggested in post no. 2, the result would be as shown in the attached picture.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Tal.jpg (45.6 KB, 30 views)
__________________
If the above post has helped you, why not take the time to say thank you, by pressing the "Thumbs up."
JHB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 11:08 PM   #6
Gramps
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gramps is on a distinguished road
Re: Labels on both columns of a report

Hi All,

Still no luck!

I have attached a database that has the report and the table with some dummy data in it.

What have I done wrong? It still repeats the Group Header for each entry...
Attached Files
File Type: accdb Database1.accdb (512.0 KB, 34 views)
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 03:59 AM   #7
Mihail
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Romania
Posts: 2,373
Thanks: 90
Thanked 368 Times in 363 Posts
Mihail is on a distinguished road
Re: Labels on both columns of a report

I can't understand why your report don't work.
A single word bring up in my mind: "corrupted".
So, I've designated other report (I've used copy-paste for the controls that already you have) then I set the row source. And all seems to be OK (see attached).
Attached Files
File Type: accdb Gramps.accdb (512.0 KB, 34 views)

__________________
Mihail
I'm looking for a job !
Very good technical skills on Metal Sheets:
Design (SolidWorks), Programming/Operating machines (Cutting, Bending, Punching)
Mazatrol for turning machines
Mihail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 09:45 PM   #8
JHB
Have been here a while
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: In the south of Denmark (Jutland), near the German border.
Posts: 7,720
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2,082 Times in 2,037 Posts
JHB has a spectacular aura about JHB has a spectacular aura about
Re: Labels on both columns of a report

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gramps View Post
Hi All,

Still no luck!

I have attached a database that has the report and the table with some dummy data in it.

What have I done wrong? It still repeats the Group Header for each entry...
Yes I see, you've to add a dummy value, like I've done in the attached database, open report "tblPhoneList1".
Attached Files
File Type: accdb Database13.accdb (416.0 KB, 37 views)
__________________
If the above post has helped you, why not take the time to say thank you, by pressing the "Thumbs up."
JHB is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JHB For This Useful Post:
Gramps (08-25-2013)
Old 08-25-2013, 11:30 PM   #9
Gramps
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gramps is on a distinguished road
Re: Labels on both columns of a report

Hi JHB,

Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou, thankyou!

You little ripper!

Your solution is so elegant, it almost made me cry!

I sort of worked out something similar, but I have since put your solution into the database instead because it beats my idea hands down!

I worked out that the reason why I was getting the labels repeating for each entry was because I needed a way for Access to see all the table records as a group. Since none of the items in the table shared any group characteristics, I needed to invent one. I decided to create a new field in the table, called it ReportGroup, put the value "Grp" into each record and set the field to Automatically populate with the value Grp when a new record was created. Then I was able to do a group on ReportGrp, which worked, but your way is MUCH MUCH better.

I have learned so much from everyone on this site by reading all the forums and I doubt I would have been able to create what I have so far without you all.

Thanks again!
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 01:44 AM   #10
JHB
Have been here a while
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: In the south of Denmark (Jutland), near the German border.
Posts: 7,720
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2,082 Times in 2,037 Posts
JHB has a spectacular aura about JHB has a spectacular aura about
Re: Labels on both columns of a report

You're welcome, good it succeed at last.
Luck with your project.

__________________
If the above post has helped you, why not take the time to say thank you, by pressing the "Thumbs up."
JHB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get report labels to appear in two columns dmace Reports 2 03-11-2010 04:20 PM
Reports: Mailing Labels - Loosing their preset columns and margins Wmffra Reports 2 11-24-2006 06:30 AM
Snaking Columns Like Mailing Labels JReichnan Reports 1 11-04-2005 08:38 AM
printing labels to selected rows/columns DesBlair Reports 5 05-10-2005 01:27 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World