Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Macros

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2017, 01:43 PM   #1
stell
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
stell is on a distinguished road
Automatically creating new form after data entry?

Hello, all.

I have a problem that's been driving me crazy all week. Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

So I made a form to enter data into a table. The form only consists of 2 fields. This form is being used by employees using a scanner. What I want to happen is right when they scan in the information into the second field, a new form to automatically show up.

I'm trying to avoid having the employee have to put down the scanner and manually create a new form every time. I want them to be able to scan in data at a fast pace.

I tried the "gotorecord" macro but it gave me an error saying 'you may be at the last record' or something like that.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

stell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 02:26 PM   #2
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 9,623
Thanks: 37
Thanked 3,117 Times in 3,026 Posts
CJ_London is a jewel in the rough CJ_London is a jewel in the rough CJ_London is a jewel in the rough
Re: Automatically creating new form after data entry?

have you considered using a continuous form? sometimes called a multiple item form
__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 02:48 PM   #3
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 8,963
Thanks: 295
Thanked 693 Times in 661 Posts
Uncle Gizmo has a spectacular aura about Uncle Gizmo has a spectacular aura about Uncle Gizmo has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: Automatically creating new form after data entry?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stell View Post
I'm trying to avoid having the employee have to put down the scanner and manually create a new form every time.

Instead of scanning the barcode directly into a text box attached to a field in the underlying table, scan into an unbound text box. When you make a scan the barcode scanner is set up to key in the data from the barcode and then mimic pressing the enter key. The "Enter Key Press simulation" triggers the after update event of the unbound text box. Write code in the after update event which takes the information from the unbound textbox, places it into the relevant bound textbox, clears the unbound textbox ready for the next entry. I've found this arrangement enables quite a high speed of data entry, and completely under your control.

__________________
Tony Hine - My Aspiration --- Finding a better way of Explaining ---
From this YouTube:-

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
automatic , form , macro , update

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating a data entry form with hierarchy... PLEASE HELP!!! neilarmour Forms 2 12-09-2013 06:16 AM
Creating a form for data entry on three tables Gamermom Forms 3 11-19-2013 01:35 PM
Creating 1 data entry form that updates many tables hudeani Forms 1 04-12-2012 10:32 AM
Creating a Data Entry Form mylewis Forms 1 11-10-2009 12:46 PM
Creating a report from a data entry form meldrape Reports 1 06-29-2001 10:54 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World