Go Back   Access World Forums > Apps and Windows > Hardware Questions and Answers

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-22-2017, 04:55 PM   #1
Yianni
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yianni is on a distinguished road
Smile What computer

I have been having issue with my AltF11 and F8 keys. I noticed that many new laptops do not have Pause/Break key. Do you know which laptops have the necessary Keys for programming in Access?

Yianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 05:10 PM   #2
ridders
AWF VIP
Gold Supporter
 
ridders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 2,889
Thanks: 52
Thanked 680 Times in 628 Posts
ridders has a spectacular aura about ridders has a spectacular aura about
Re: What computer

My keyboard doesn't have a break key
However, you can use Ctrl + ScrLk in place of Ctrl+Break

Also you can add a shortcut to the VBE in the quick access toolbar (QAT) at the top of the screen)
__________________
Colin
Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, Tapatalk


If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation' scales symbol on the left and leave a comment. Cheers!
ridders is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ridders For This Useful Post:
Yianni (11-23-2017)
Old 11-23-2017, 08:36 AM   #3
Yianni
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yianni is on a distinguished road
Re: What computer

Can you tell what computer you use?

Yianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2017, 09:55 AM   #4
ridders
AWF VIP
Gold Supporter
 
ridders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 2,889
Thanks: 52
Thanked 680 Times in 628 Posts
ridders has a spectacular aura about ridders has a spectacular aura about
Re: What computer

Quote:
Can you tell what computer you use?
Not sure what you're asking


This routine will give a list of useful info about your computer and the logged on user. Copy it to a module. It will print almost 40 items to the VBE Immediate window

Code:
Sub ShowEnviron()

'lists all envionment variables
    Dim strg As String
    Dim x As Long

    strg = "Environ Values 1  to 40" & vbCrLf & _
    "=======================" & vbCrLf
    For x = 1 To 40
        strg = strg & x & "  " & Environ(x) & vbCrLf
    Next x
    
    Debug.Print strg

End Sub
The Environ function can be used on its own
e.g. If you just want the computer name, type
Code:
Environ("ComputerName")
However, Environ doesn't tell you anything about your keyboard if that's what you want

However, this link will provide far more than you're ever likely to want to know about your keyboard:
http://www.fmsinc.com/microsoftacces...Info_class.htm

You may need to download something from that site for the code shown on that page to work.
I haven't tried the code so if it doesn't work, contact them not me.
__________________
Colin
Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, Tapatalk


If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation' scales symbol on the left and leave a comment. Cheers!
ridders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2017, 03:06 PM   #5
Yianni
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 12
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yianni is on a distinguished road
Re: What computer

Thanks for the prompt reply. I was just curious as to what make/model of computer you were using and whether you recommend it as a good one for Access programming.

Thanks
Yianni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2017, 03:17 PM   #6
ridders
AWF VIP
Gold Supporter
 
ridders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 2,889
Thanks: 52
Thanked 680 Times in 628 Posts
ridders has a spectacular aura about ridders has a spectacular aura about
Re: What computer

Ah ... that'll teach me to interpret rather than answer the question.

I'm using a 6 year old PC which is just about adequate for my needs.
No point providing details as the hardware is very much out of date.
Current software but an old PC ....
__________________
Colin
Access 2010 32-bit, Access 2016 32-bit & 64-bit, SQL Server Express 2014, Windows 10,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, Tapatalk


If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation' scales symbol on the left and leave a comment. Cheers!
ridders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 07:57 AM   #7
Leo_Coroneos
Newly Registered User
 
Leo_Coroneos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Albany, Western Australia
Posts: 78
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Leo_Coroneos is on a distinguished road
Re: What computer

Mine's a Dell Latitude E6510 and it's served me well over the past year. It's got all twelve F-keys, if that's what you're asking. The F12 key doubles as a Pause key, and the others all have various other functions associated with them indicated by small symbols below F1 to F12. Never really looked at them that hard, TBH!


__________________
Database Design Solutions
Databases for the 21st Century
Leo_Coroneos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
laptop keyboard

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] VBA Code work on computer A, but not computer B c1bluemini General 28 04-08-2015 09:53 AM
Get computer name born2live Modules & VBA 13 10-29-2014 08:34 PM
Copying Access from a Windows Computer to a Vista Computer Binx324 General 4 03-17-2011 10:02 AM
Question Linked table issues from computer to computer macwiz General 3 04-22-2009 09:45 PM
Computer Name or ID Tsango General 9 05-30-2006 11:19 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World