Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Reports

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2019, 01:19 PM   #1
DiogoCuba
On Error GoTo AWF *****:
 
DiogoCuba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Posts: 133
Thanks: 79
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
DiogoCuba is on a distinguished road
Tutorial to Build a "Report Center"

Fellow Access Master,

I would like to know if you could reference me to a tutorial or something similar to a tutorial or example that I could learn how to make a "report center" where the user can build up his own report.

Appreciate any help on this!

__________________
Best regards,
Diogo Cuba

"Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish: you only live once, so make it count and go after what you want no matter what."
DiogoCuba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 01:23 PM   #2
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,538
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,429 Times in 1,410 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Tutorial to Build a "Report Center"

Hi. Not sure about a tutorial, but I think this topic was covered in the book Professional Access 2013 Programming (if memory serves).
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2019, 09:04 PM   #3
Micron
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,229
Thanks: 10
Thanked 231 Times in 219 Posts
Micron has a spectacular aura about Micron has a spectacular aura about
Re: Tutorial to Build a "Report Center"

Crystal reports comes to mind for custom reports. Have to admit that it's been a long time since I ever considered it. Maybe see if it's still around.

__________________
Sometimes I just roll my eyes out loud...
Windows 10; Office 365 (Access 2016)
Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 03:11 AM   #4
jdraw
Super Moderator
 
jdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada;West Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 12,280
Thanks: 96
Thanked 2,031 Times in 1,978 Posts
jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light jdraw is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Tutorial to Build a "Report Center"

Diogo,

Not sure exactly what a report center is, but this material from Martin Green on Dynamic Reports may be helpful.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jdraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2019, 04:18 AM   #5
isladogs
High Noon Moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 11,288
Thanks: 115
Thanked 3,089 Times in 2,807 Posts
isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold
Re: Tutorial to Build a "Report Center"

Hi Diogo
I'm also unclear what a report centre is.
If you mean allowing the user to make multiple selections which are used to filter a report 'dynamically' then the two examples databases in this link may help. https://www.access-programmers.co.uk...d.php?t=302189
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Common sense and a sense of humour are the same thing, moving at different speeds. (Clive James - RIP)
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2019, 10:56 PM   #6
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 28,311
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1,599 Times in 1,519 Posts
Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all
Re: Tutorial to Build a "Report Center"

I'm not sure that I would ever allow users to build reports. That would require giving them an .accdb rather than an .accde or .accdr which leads to other issues. Besides, if the user modifies his FE, how would you ever be able to coordinate updates to the FE. Once you allow individual users to update the FE, it is no longer yours to control. Each user would have his own copy of the FE and each user would be making his own modifications.

You can fairly easily allow users to create Excel or csv exports. You would save their selected columns in a table so that is just data rather than actual objects.

Of course, if the reports are simple list type format, then you can also store the column selections in a table. However, in this case, you will need to limit the number of columns so you don't have trouble building the report object. Even building the report object yourself, while certainly better than letting the user do it, is still a problem because if you are manipulating objects, you must distribute an .accdb.

__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If "TableA.FieldA" exists in "TableB.FieldB" then return "1" else "2" shdale Queries 8 10-29-2014 05:20 AM
Question Export "Query or Report" to a "Delimited Text File" hawzmolly General 8 08-31-2012 06:26 AM
Tab Control with Subforms / "Can't build a link between unbound forms" error rgreene General 4 01-23-2007 06:55 PM
Build an "or" clause in VBA and use as criteria in a query jmaluso Modules & VBA 6 10-26-2004 09:23 AM
"Can't build a link between unbound forms" error nuke_girl Reports 1 07-23-2004 10:09 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World