Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Reports

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2016, 08:05 PM   #1
martinr
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 58
Thanks: 26
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
martinr is on a distinguished road
help needed with formatting charts

I have inserted a 2d column chart into a report and it looks fine, however when
it loads into 'print preview' or layout view only 12 of the 14 columns are visible (2 columns do not 'fit' into the chart).
I adjusted the column gap but it just makes all the columns wider and the gap between them narrower. What i need to do is also make the columns 'narrower' so they will all fit into the chart area.
is there a way to specify or adjust the column width independently to the gap width?
ps, this is using Access 2013

martinr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to martinr For This Useful Post:
hassanogaibi (06-28-2016)
Old 06-15-2016, 10:10 PM   #2
JHB
Have been here a while
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: In the south of Denmark (Jutland), near the German border.
Posts: 7,705
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2,072 Times in 2,027 Posts
JHB has a spectacular aura about JHB has a spectacular aura about
Re: help needed with formatting charts

Sound strange, normally all columns are in the chart area, even when it is 50.
Could you post a sample database with the report and chart, and some sample data?
__________________
If the above post has helped you, why not take the time to say thank you, by pressing the "Thumbs up."
JHB is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JHB For This Useful Post:
hassanogaibi (06-28-2016)
Old 06-16-2016, 04:32 PM   #3
martinr
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 58
Thanks: 26
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
martinr is on a distinguished road
Re: help needed with formatting charts

Thanks JHB,
it's quite a large database so I'll have to extract a 'lite' version that i can post for you -
it may take some time.
i had another look at the chart properties and saw one called 'size mode', so i will
also experiment with this. Maybe it has something to do with scaling that is not directly
specified(?)

martinr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to martinr For This Useful Post:
hassanogaibi (06-28-2016)
Old 06-16-2016, 08:45 PM   #4
JHB
Have been here a while
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: In the south of Denmark (Jutland), near the German border.
Posts: 7,705
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2,072 Times in 2,027 Posts
JHB has a spectacular aura about JHB has a spectacular aura about
Re: help needed with formatting charts

If me, I would create a new report with a new chart in it.
If the object frame is smaller as the graph it self, then it could cause the problem you've.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Graf.jpg (96.3 KB, 115 views)
__________________
If the above post has helped you, why not take the time to say thank you, by pressing the "Thumbs up."

Last edited by JHB; 06-16-2016 at 09:12 PM.
JHB is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JHB For This Useful Post:
hassanogaibi (06-28-2016)
Old 06-16-2016, 09:05 PM   #5
martinr
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 58
Thanks: 26
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
martinr is on a distinguished road
Re: help needed with formatting charts

thanks jhb for posting that!
did you have to specify the X axis labels to be vertical?
does your chart adjust/scale in size if you adjust your report
page setup size (ie, from A3 to A4)?
martinr is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to martinr For This Useful Post:
hassanogaibi (06-28-2016)
Old 06-16-2016, 09:11 PM   #6
JHB
Have been here a while
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: In the south of Denmark (Jutland), near the German border.
Posts: 7,705
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2,072 Times in 2,027 Posts
JHB has a spectacular aura about JHB has a spectacular aura about
Re: help needed with formatting charts

Quote:
Originally Posted by martinr View Post
thanks jhb for posting that!
did you have to specify the X axis labels to be vertical?
Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by martinr View Post
does your chart adjust/scale in size if you adjust your report
page setup size (ie, from A3 to A4)?
No you've to adjust the object frame and the graph object.
If the object frame is smaller as the graph it self, then it could cause the problem you've.

__________________
If the above post has helped you, why not take the time to say thank you, by pressing the "Thumbs up."
JHB is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JHB For This Useful Post:
hassanogaibi (06-28-2016)
Reply

Tags
charts , charts in reports , column widths

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subreport formatting help needed gagnonconsulting Reports 1 07-05-2012 12:50 AM
Date Formatting with Charts in a Report natedog19 Reports 3 04-26-2007 08:54 AM
Help needed with conditional formatting Luke Storer General 2 03-31-2007 09:52 AM
Pivot Charts help needed robjones23 General 1 12-20-2004 01:08 AM
[SOLVED] Autonumber formatting help needed romayellow Tables 1 01-20-2004 07:29 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World