Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Tables

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2019, 09:15 AM   #1
adewale4favour
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 14
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
adewale4favour is on a distinguished road
Linking two backends together

Hi,
Kindly help with this; I want to link a backend BE to another backend BE and make a single frontend FE interact with these backends BE.


Is this possible? if yes, how do I start.



This is required because I want to separate a large data (repository) from the others, however, the data I am separating is useful, and reference can be made to it anytime.

adewale4favour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 09:24 AM   #2
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 7,240
Thanks: 63
Thanked 1,678 Times in 1,633 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Linking two backends together

Hi. The way you would normally do it is you would link the single FE to the separate BEs. Even if you link the first BE to second one and then link the FE to the first BE, including the linked tables, you will still end up with one FE linked to two BEs.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 11:07 AM   #3
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 15,071
Thanks: 100
Thanked 1,890 Times in 1,726 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Linking two backends together

I'm with theDBguy on this one. I would advise against having a "series" connection and would suggest instead that you have two parallel connections. The 2GB limitations would apply either way and you can have up to either 16 or 32 such connections open at once. But having the A to B to C connection will perhaps be slightly slower than the (A to B, A to C) connection. Regardless of how you do it, you need linked connections in A if A is your front-end. Having C's tables in B doesn't automatically make them available in A. But if you do the parallel connection, you only have two links. If you do the series connection, you have the A to B and B to C connection plus the (A to C through B) connection, because the tabledefs that describe the connection MUST be in A to be used by A.

__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 08:52 AM   #4
Cronk
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,203
Thanks: 3
Thanked 475 Times in 468 Posts
Cronk will become famous soon enough Cronk will become famous soon enough
Re: Linking two backends together

And to go further, there could be many BEs, I guess limited to the maximum number of objects in an Access db. Though I can't conceive of any practical situation requiring hundred or more BEs. I had one application which had 3 BEs.
Cronk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 09:16 AM   #5
isladogs
High Noon Moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 11,909
Thanks: 120
Thanked 3,324 Times in 3,000 Posts
isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold
Re: Linking two backends together

In common with the previous answers, I agree that you should use several BEs all linked direct to the FE.
I frequently have 3 or more BE databases. One of my schools apps has 7 in all - 3 SQL Server and 4 in Access as well as linked Excel and CSV files.

In fact you don't really have a choice. It isn't possible to link to a series of BEs 'piggybacked together' as you can only directly link to a local table in a linked database. However, you can import a linked table from a linked database. When you do that, it becomes a linked table where the link connection is actually to the original source database. Hope that makes sense
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Common sense and a sense of humour are the same thing, moving at different speeds. (Clive James - RIP)

Last edited by isladogs; 12-08-2019 at 09:35 AM.
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 10:34 AM   #6
adewale4favour
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 14
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
adewale4favour is on a distinguished road
Re: Linking two backends together

Many thanks Guys

This is great. I hope to implement this soon and see if I get through.


Regards
Michael

adewale4favour is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backup all backends speakers_86 Sample Databases 0 06-30-2012 07:11 PM
Combining two backends Karen Patalano General 1 02-26-2011 05:38 PM
speaking of backends accessfleet Tables 4 11-23-2010 12:14 PM
Multiple Backends Treason Modules & VBA 1 05-22-2007 08:20 PM
Linking to multiple Backends JACKSON General 4 11-26-2004 04:09 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World