Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2009, 04:17 AM   #1
Arasi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arasi is on a distinguished road
Not able to update a table in VBA Access code

Hi all,
I am a beginner in Access VBA.
I have an issue in updating a Table in the VBA code.

I am reading a text file in this VBA code and extracting the message IDs from the file and write some comment for the message ID.
I am trying to update the message ID and the comment to the Table "Result" using the below code. It is giving me Run time error - 3001. Invalid Argument.
it stops at the line Rslt.Updtae.
Dim db As Database
Dim Rslt As Recordset
Set db = CurrentDb()
Set Rslt = db.OpenRecordset("Result")
Rslt.AddNew
Rslt("Field1") = msg_id
Rslt("Field2") = comment
Rslt.Update

Please some one help me to overcome this. It was working fine before. Now its giving error. Donno where I ve gone wrong.

Thanks,
Arasi

Arasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 04:27 AM   #2
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 8,728
Thanks: 255
Thanked 657 Times in 628 Posts
Uncle Gizmo has a spectacular aura about Uncle Gizmo has a spectacular aura about Uncle Gizmo has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: Not able to update a table in VBA Access code

try...

Dim db As DAO.Database
Dim Rslt As DAO.Recordset
Set db = CurrentDb()
Set Rslt = db.OpenRecordset("Result")
Rslt.AddNew
Rslt("Field1") = msg_id
Rslt("Field2") = comment
Rslt.Update
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
............

Join My YouTube Channel ---
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hundereds of MS Access Videos!!!!!
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 04:28 AM   #3
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 8,728
Thanks: 255
Thanked 657 Times in 628 Posts
Uncle Gizmo has a spectacular aura about Uncle Gizmo has a spectacular aura about Uncle Gizmo has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: Not able to update a table in VBA Access code

If your field "Field1" only allows Unique values, and you try it and add the same value again, then this can cause problems.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
............

Join My YouTube Channel ---
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Hundereds of MS Access Videos!!!!!
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
access , vba

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access Excel VBA code from MS Access llkhoutx Excel 0 07-24-2008 04:02 AM
create a progress bar in VB JohnLee Modules & VBA 3 01-08-2008 07:29 AM
way too many tables qwertyjjj Theory and practice of database design 3 08-01-2007 01:04 PM
Can i insert VBA code into an XLS exported from Access? simon_marklar Modules & VBA 2 08-23-2005 06:50 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World