Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-16-2018, 10:36 AM   #1
GBalcom
Much to learn!
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 381
Thanks: 20
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
GBalcom is on a distinguished road
Any issue with leaving a .ACCDE running all the time?

I have an application that I've been running through Windows scheduler, which looks at our local db, then query's results of new events it then throws up on our google calendar.

I'm going to be making a few revisions to how it works, and just realized it may be beneficial to let it run 24/7, and set it up with a timer, based on certain options an admin can change.

Any pitfalls to running an access app all the time? Ideally, this will reside and run on our server (2012). I can add it to the startup suite so it restarts after scheduled events.

GBalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:11 AM   #2
MarkK
Super Moderator
 
MarkK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 7,620
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1,260 Times in 1,199 Posts
MarkK is a name known to all MarkK is a name known to all MarkK is a name known to all MarkK is a name known to all MarkK is a name known to all MarkK is a name known to all
Quote:
Originally Posted by GBalcom View Post
...and just realized it may be beneficial to let it run 24/7...
I would not likely leave an Access app running with an enabled timer. I don't know this for sure, but I think that would be a resource hog. You can test this by opening task manager, and starting your Access app and seeing how much memory and CPU time is consumed, but keep in mind--even if it is just a little bit--you'll still use way less resources if you start the app using a Windows Scheduled Task, and then just shut it down right away when your task is completed. And it's so easy to log every time it runs. And so easy to change the schedule in Windows Scheduler. And Windows can run it hidden. That's the route I would take.
hth
Mark
__________________
formerly known as lagbolt | Windows 10 | Access 2010 | Visual Studio 2013 | "Institutions have a vested interest in perpetuating the problems to which they are the solution." - Clay Shirky
MarkK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:25 AM   #3
GBalcom
Much to learn!
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 381
Thanks: 20
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
GBalcom is on a distinguished road
Re: Any issue with leaving a .ACCDE running all the time?

Thanks Mark.

I've had some trouble with Windows Scheduled Task, like when I log off for the day and it won't run at night. (It's currently on my work computer). Maybe this problem would disappear If I move the task to the server.

GBalcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 12:29 PM   #4
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 27,211
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1,368 Times in 1,303 Posts
Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Any issue with leaving a .ACCDE running all the time?

It is probably security settings that are keeping the Access app from running while you are logged out. You should be able to fix that but it is far better to run the app on the Server if you can get the IT folks to go along with the plan. Access MUST be installed on the server to run the app there.
__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 01:51 PM   #5
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 11,844
Thanks: 55
Thanked 1,064 Times in 972 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Any issue with leaving a .ACCDE running all the time?

If your IT people make you log out when you leave or put a logout timer on your workstation after X idle minutes, where X invariably equals "too short for my purposes", then your problem is getting the scheduler to run something as YOU (possible but some IT shops won't allow it) or as SYSTEM (IT will allow it but you have to grant permissions to your app for user SYSTEM).

Leaving a system logged in and leaving an app running is always possible but rarely advisable, given the massive security hole implied by that situation. Which is why IT shops make you log out if you forget.

Getting the app to run on the server is possible, but your IT folks have to be on board as Pat said, and you probably would have to face the security issues for SYSTEM to have the proper rights for your setup.

In case you were wondering, SYSTEM usually has rights only on the Windows system folders. If there is a "D" drive local to a server or workstation, SYSTEM account might not have particular access privileges at all. It is usually 'administrator' or 'xadmin' or some such name that has permissions for everything.
__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 07:44 PM   #6
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 27,211
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1,368 Times in 1,303 Posts
Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Any issue with leaving a .ACCDE running all the time?

I had an app that ran nightly from a department computer. The computer was always left on but locked. Windows scheduler ran a batch file to open the Access app. I am not at the client site so I cannot examine the settings but it worked fine except if there was a network blip. The drives didn't seem to connect properly so we had to create a log that people had to check each day to find out if the job ran.
__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 09:05 PM   #7
Galaxiom
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NSW Australia
Posts: 11,148
Thanks: 68
Thanked 1,379 Times in 1,300 Posts
Galaxiom is a splendid one to behold Galaxiom is a splendid one to behold Galaxiom is a splendid one to behold Galaxiom is a splendid one to behold Galaxiom is a splendid one to behold Galaxiom is a splendid one to behold
Re: Any issue with leaving a .ACCDE running all the time?

It might be worth considering running it as a Service. This means nobody has to be logged in and it can be configured to automatically restart if it stops.

Here is one article about running programs as a service.

The tool it suggests is one of several available. I haven't used one since a decade ago when I ran Mercury Mail Server under FireDaemon (both were free programs back then).

Galaxiom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 08:41 AM   #8
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 27,211
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1,368 Times in 1,303 Posts
Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light Pat Hartman is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Any issue with leaving a .ACCDE running all the time?

I don't like leaving the accde running all the time. I am also not certain that will solve the problem I experienced with the network drives not reconnecting. That may be a timing issue and they only reconnect when someone logs in. You might fix the linked tables by using UNC notation to link to them but you would also have to use UNC for ANY file reference in the code.

__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accde file and not running DevAccess Modules & VBA 5 10-10-2016 02:24 AM
Export a table from accde to accde file gblack Modules & VBA 1 04-07-2015 11:10 PM
problems with form controls running ACCDE file martinr General 1 11-29-2013 11:28 PM
ACCDE file to read another ACCDE antonio.manoj.derose General 1 09-12-2013 07:36 PM
VBA not running in .accde, but does in .accdb theKruser Modules & VBA 1 02-25-2013 02:52 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World