Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-03-2012, 11:11 PM   #1
Kubalism
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Kubalism is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Incident Tracker - Cannot add record: join key of table "tblIncident Info" not in rec

Hi guys,

I've managed to start a few tables, a log in form and a little flash screen. I then created a form that will serve us a fill-up form.

But when I tried to input data to my "Location of Incident, Time, Date , Narrative and Resolution fields it doesn't allow me to and displays an Error message saying Cannot add record; join key of table "tblIncident Info" not in recordset.

To what I see, I think I mess up with my relationships. Or I don't know.

I would be willing to provide a link to my relationships field but i'm still not allowed to do so. I've already check the post by Nano but to no avail I can't find the solution to my problem there.

Hope someone can help me with this.

EDIT:

What i want to do is that there would only be ONLY one Form with tabs and that a user will just input the data on the fields provided. Is that advisable? Or would it be better if there are multiple forms?

I also already did several revisions and now on this current one I've decided to use a design concept from databaseanswers since it's closely the same design to what i have in mind.

I will post a zip file of my db later.


Last edited by Kubalism; 07-04-2012 at 01:10 AM. Reason: Small Changes
Kubalism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 02:23 PM   #2
GinaWhipp
AWF VIP
 
GinaWhipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 5,071
Thanks: 19
Thanked 850 Times in 835 Posts
GinaWhipp will become famous soon enough GinaWhipp will become famous soon enough
Re: Incident Tracker

Can you post the Recordset of the form and how those tables are related to each other?
__________________
Gina Whipp
Microsoft MVP (Access 2010-2015)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GinaWhipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 05:41 PM   #3
boblarson
Smeghead
 
boblarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 32,068
Thanks: 97
Thanked 1,810 Times in 1,573 Posts
boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold
Re: Incident Tracker

Instead of posting posts just to reach 10, have you read this:
http://www.access-programmers.co.uk/...d.php?t=212125

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
boblarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 06:17 PM   #4
Kubalism
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Kubalism is on a distinguished road
Re: Incident Tracker

Good day!

@Gina

Hello,

Please see attached DB.
Thanks

@boblarson

I've already seen that post sir, but in my office, zip files are not allowed because of security purposes.

Got a question sir, as to what I stated above, is my case similar to Nano? Because I've tried reading the entire thread of Nano but I can't seem to find a solution or maybe I just fail to spot it.

Regards,

EDIT:

I tried separating the fields to another table and then linking to the main table. Good news is that it allows me to enter value, bad news is when I open the form it will show an enter paramater value box.

I also noticed that when I open my DB on another PC, the fields on my form dissapears.

EDIT:

Please see attached db.
Attached Files
File Type: accdb Tracker 2.accdb (1.75 MB, 96 views)

Last edited by Kubalism; 07-04-2012 at 07:34 PM.
Kubalism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 07:56 PM   #5
boblarson
Smeghead
 
boblarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 32,068
Thanks: 97
Thanked 1,810 Times in 1,573 Posts
boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold
Re: Incident Tracker

Immediately upon opening the database I can see your problem with this form. You can't have a query like this for it:


It should actually be like this:




You should have the other tables (most of them) as SUBFORMS on each tab.
Attached Images
File Type: png Kubalism01.png (36.9 KB, 393 views)
File Type: png Kubalism02.png (20.9 KB, 375 views)
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
boblarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:09 PM   #6
Kubalism
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Kubalism is on a distinguished road
Re: Incident Tracker

Thanks for the swift reply sir.

Got a question.

What are the things that I should change and are my relationships fine? or could it be better ?

I'm really confused since this is my first time making this kind of database.

Please help me improve my database because I really need it for our new site.
Kubalism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:11 PM   #7
boblarson
Smeghead
 
boblarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 32,068
Thanks: 97
Thanked 1,810 Times in 1,573 Posts
boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold
Re: Incident Tracker

I did forget to mention that your table structure has a few changes that should be made.

First off, the Employee and Employee Superior should be in the same table like you have. You shouldn't have the Superior Info as a separate table. They are both employees, but except for the very top guy, they all would have a superior. So, we should end up with this:



Attached Images
File Type: png Kubalism03.png (39.5 KB, 435 views)

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
boblarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:20 PM   #8
Kubalism
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Kubalism is on a distinguished road
Re: Incident Tracker

I made another table for superior sir because I want to show that a single superior could have many employee and that a superior could have another ID.

By changing the tables, wouldn't that have an effect to my database?
Kubalism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:28 PM   #9
boblarson
Smeghead
 
boblarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 32,068
Thanks: 97
Thanked 1,810 Times in 1,573 Posts
boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold
Re: Incident Tracker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kubalism View Post
I made another table for superior sir because I want to show that a single superior could have many employee and that a superior could have another ID.

By changing the tables, wouldn't that have an effect to my database?
Is the superior an employee? Yes, they are. So they belong in the employees table. You have superiorID in the employees table to identify who that employee's superior is. So you put an employeeID in that superiorID field by having a combo box which has the list of employees to choose from so you can choose which superior is that employee's superior. Does that make sense? There is no need for a superior's table because you can use a query to get which employees are under that superior.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by boblarson; 07-04-2012 at 08:29 PM. Reason: clarify
boblarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:38 PM   #10
GinaWhipp
AWF VIP
 
GinaWhipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 5,071
Thanks: 19
Thanked 850 Times in 835 Posts
GinaWhipp will become famous soon enough GinaWhipp will become famous soon enough
Re: Incident Tracker

Well, I see you are in capable hands so I'll just move along...
__________________
Gina Whipp
Microsoft MVP (Access 2010-2015)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GinaWhipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 08:39 PM   #11
boblarson
Smeghead
 
boblarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 32,068
Thanks: 97
Thanked 1,810 Times in 1,573 Posts
boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold
Re: Incident Tracker

Quote:
Originally Posted by GinaWhipp View Post
Well, I see you are in capable hands so I'll just move along...
Hey, join in. It's quite alright by me.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
boblarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:00 PM   #12
Kubalism
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Kubalism is on a distinguished road
Re: Incident Tracker

Quote:
Originally Posted by boblarson View Post
Is the superior an employee? Yes, they are. So they belong in the employees table. You have superiorID in the employees table to identify who that employee's superior is. So you put an employeeID in that superiorID field by having a combo box which has the list of employees to choose from so you can choose which superior is that employee's superior. Does that make sense? There is no need for a superior's table because you can use a query to get which employees are under that superior.
Sir,

What if employee A is transferred to another Superior, so I need to requery it?

Is this right?

please see image.

P.S

Sir, would it be possible that you can revise the db and post it here? please.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Revised.jpg (96.2 KB, 102 views)

Last edited by Kubalism; 07-04-2012 at 10:18 PM.
Kubalism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:23 PM   #13
boblarson
Smeghead
 
boblarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 32,068
Thanks: 97
Thanked 1,810 Times in 1,573 Posts
boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold
Re: Incident Tracker

You do not use lookups like that at table level (you shouldn't use lookups at table level anyway - see here for why: http://www.mvps.org/access/lookupfields.htm)

See the attached sample I created for you so you could see only the employees/superiors and how that would work. I included a form for entry and a query for viewing how it relates and how you use a second instance of the employees table to get the supervisor value.
Attached Files
File Type: mdb EmployeesAndSupervisor.mdb (340.0 KB, 90 views)
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
boblarson is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to boblarson For This Useful Post:
Kubalism (07-04-2012)
Old 07-04-2012, 10:55 PM   #14
Kubalism
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Kubalism is on a distinguished road
Re: Incident Tracker

Great sample.

Got a question. What is that on the relationship field there are tables that i dont see on navigation pane ? Does that table name suppose to hide it from the navigation pane?
Kubalism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 11:02 PM   #15
boblarson
Smeghead
 
boblarson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 32,068
Thanks: 97
Thanked 1,810 Times in 1,573 Posts
boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold boblarson is a splendid one to behold
Re: Incident Tracker

Are you talking about tblEmployees_1? If so, it isn't another table. It is just the same employees table added into the query TWICE. Once to get the employee information and the second instance (tbl_Employees_1) is for getting the supervisor information.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
boblarson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incident Tracker suggestions user9876 Forms 3 12-16-2008 06:56 AM
Help with Tracker cooh23 Tables 8 12-11-2007 01:36 PM
Incident report didjabringabeer Tables 2 12-03-2004 02:54 AM
incident # netuse@debouck. Forms 8 08-08-2004 07:31 PM
Counting incident types jgnasser Queries 3 01-15-2004 09:13 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World