Go Back   Access World Forums > Apps and Windows > Hardware Questions and Answers

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2017, 10:52 AM   #1
Freshman
Newly Registered User
 
Freshman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 342
Thanks: 20
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Freshman is on a distinguished road
MSComm32

Hi All,

The code below is giving me a "ActiveX component can't create object 429" error.
The MSComm32.ocx file did register sucessfully via Cmd

Any help would be appreciated.
Running Access 2007 but also tried it on a Access 2013 machine

I had to browse to the ocx file as Microsoft Comm Control 6.0 wasn't on the list. Not sure it that means anything?

Code:
Public Function WriteComm()
Dim MSComm1 As New MSComm
Dim msgtxt As String

msgtxt = "123"

MSComm1.CommPort = 1
MSComm1.Settings = "2400,n,8,1"
MSComm1.PortOpen = True
MSComm1.Output = Chr(27) & Chr(81) & Chr(65) & msgtxt & Chr(13)
MSComm1.PortOpen = False
End Function

__________________
Windows 7
MS Access 2007

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Freshman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 11:20 AM   #2
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 8,878
Thanks: 277
Thanked 674 Times in 645 Posts
Uncle Gizmo has a spectacular aura about Uncle Gizmo has a spectacular aura about Uncle Gizmo has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: MSComm32

Does this offer any insight?

http://www.vbforums.com/showthread.p...stupid-problem
__________________
Tony Hine - My Aspiration --- Finding a better way of Explaining ---
From this YouTube:-

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 03:23 AM   #3
Freshman
Newly Registered User
 
Freshman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: South Africa
Posts: 342
Thanks: 20
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Freshman is on a distinguished road
Re: MSComm32

Thanks I also saw that link but was not of much help. I eventually found another which, in short gave the advice to create a batch file on the fly and execute that.
Inside the batch file you will echo the commands and special characters to the com port
eg: echo texthere >\\.\com3

Thanks

__________________
Windows 7
MS Access 2007

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Freshman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Freshman For This Useful Post:
Uncle Gizmo (09-19-2017)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comm Ports without mscomm32 nae0254 Modules & VBA 14 09-17-2014 03:44 AM
MScomm32.ocx not avialable in Access 2010? TimTDP Modules & VBA 2 12-10-2013 05:18 AM
[SOLVED] mscomm32.ocx Ziut Modules & VBA 2 03-11-2004 02:29 PM
MSComm32 Problem gntpcnut Forms 0 11-26-1999 02:07 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World