Go Back   Access World Forums > Apps and Windows > SQL Server

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2017, 05:02 AM   #1
DirkWagemans
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DirkWagemans is on a distinguished road
Barcode

Hey guys,

Quick question; Can I save barcodes as a text-field in my database so it'll be linked to an item?

Table1 ID Item Stock Price per unit Barcode 1
1 Cable
10 € 5,00 (any barcode)
Thanks!

DirkWagemans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2017, 07:34 AM   #2
AccessBlaster
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 672
Thanks: 16
Thanked 213 Times in 207 Posts
AccessBlaster will become famous soon enough AccessBlaster will become famous soon enough
Re: Barcode

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirkWagemans View Post
Hey guys,

Quick question; Can I save barcodes as a text-field in my database so it'll be linked to an item?

Table1 ID Item Stock Price per unit Barcode 1
1 Cable
10 5,00 (any barcode)
Thanks!
I save my barcodes as text, because I never know what I might get. Some barcodes are strictly numbers and some are mixed. Two examples: 706285, XB5200T12B.
AccessBlaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2017, 11:36 PM   #3
DirkWagemans
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DirkWagemans is on a distinguished road
Re: Barcode

Thanks for your replies, I don't know much about SQL yet. The IMS I am making is my first interaction with SQL / Access altogether.

But that "barcode" should be converted to what looks like an image with stripes. Sorry I don't know the right terms

Is there no problem that the "stripes" barcode will be put in the table or should the conversion between "stripes" and "text" be done elsewhere than in the table?

DirkWagemans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 05:51 AM   #4
AccessBlaster
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 672
Thanks: 16
Thanked 213 Times in 207 Posts
AccessBlaster will become famous soon enough AccessBlaster will become famous soon enough
Re: Barcode

So you are interested in the barcode image, not the data the symbol holds? I have scanned barcode symbols and extracted the data then reprinted the symbol onto a report.

Maybe tell us what you are trying to do, can you upload some samples?
AccessBlaster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 07:51 AM   #5
Minty
AWF VIP
 
Minty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK - Wiltshire
Posts: 4,187
Thanks: 80
Thanked 1,141 Times in 1,117 Posts
Minty will become famous soon enough Minty will become famous soon enough
Re: Barcode

Normally you would present a barcode by using a barode font.
This way you store your data normally (as text) and then the barcode is encoded by the font.
You can display this on a report/form normally by just specifying the font.
__________________
A little thanks goes a long way
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(Please use the scales on the left if we have helped!) Mark threads as Solved once you have an answer.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Minty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 11:54 PM   #6
DirkWagemans
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 10
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DirkWagemans is on a distinguished road
Re: Barcode

Thank you!

Does that mean the "barcode" is displayed as "clear text" in the table and with the "barcode font" on the form? Or will I need to apply the barcode font in the table as well?
DirkWagemans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 12:03 AM   #7
Minty
AWF VIP
 
Minty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK - Wiltshire
Posts: 4,187
Thanks: 80
Thanked 1,141 Times in 1,117 Posts
Minty will become famous soon enough Minty will become famous soon enough
Re: Barcode

Only in the report / form. You can't change the font for the table individually. All your tables would be unintelligible.

__________________
A little thanks goes a long way
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(Please use the scales on the left if we have helped!) Mark threads as Solved once you have an answer.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Minty is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Minty For This Useful Post:
DirkWagemans (03-29-2017)
Old 03-29-2017, 02:33 AM   #8
ridders
AWF VIP
Gold Supporter
 
ridders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 35
Thanked 448 Times in 417 Posts
ridders will become famous soon enough ridders will become famous soon enough
Re: Barcode

Hi
A free barcode font is available at https://www.barcodesinc.com/free-barcode-font/
I use this for displaying barcodes on Access reports
I'm sure there are others available as well
ridders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 06:10 PM   #9
98jbsz
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
98jbsz is on a distinguished road
Re: Barcode

hi
i am looking to generate a barcode with the UPC A font, but it dont work some websites say that it need to be converted like this, it form a number for example 10290038475 to V(b02900*NSORPl(V.

how can i do it?
98jbsz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 11:54 PM   #10
Minty
AWF VIP
 
Minty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK - Wiltshire
Posts: 4,187
Thanks: 80
Thanked 1,141 Times in 1,117 Posts
Minty will become famous soon enough Minty will become famous soon enough
Re: Barcode

It's quite common t have to add characters to display a barcode correctly, they effectively act as "start" and "end" markers for the barcode.

In your example is not clear what the conversion is.

Having a quick google it appears that the result is encrypted. You would need to either store the encrypted value or encrypt on the fly.
__________________
A little thanks goes a long way
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(Please use the scales on the left if we have helped!) Mark threads as Solved once you have an answer.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Minty is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Minty For This Useful Post:
98jbsz (09-14-2017)
Old 09-13-2017, 11:56 PM   #11
Minty
AWF VIP
 
Minty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: UK - Wiltshire
Posts: 4,187
Thanks: 80
Thanked 1,141 Times in 1,117 Posts
Minty will become famous soon enough Minty will become famous soon enough
Re: Barcode

This might help : https://barcodewiz.com/user-manual/u...ms_access.aspx
__________________
A little thanks goes a long way
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

(Please use the scales on the left if we have helped!) Mark threads as Solved once you have an answer.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Minty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 07:28 AM   #12
98jbsz
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
98jbsz is on a distinguished road
Re: Barcode

Yes i know there is a lot of stuff and wizard for 100$, I am looking, if someone has a free script, to convert while printing

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
98jbsz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 07:36 AM   #13
arnelgp
Newly Registered User
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 3,736
Thanks: 46
Thanked 1,267 Times in 1,199 Posts
arnelgp has a spectacular aura about arnelgp has a spectacular aura about
Re: Barcode

There is but in excel
__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to arnelgp For This Useful Post:
98jbsz (09-14-2017)
Old 09-18-2017, 10:39 AM   #14
98jbsz
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
98jbsz is on a distinguished road
Re: Barcode

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnelgp View Post
There is but in excel
I found a Excel that do this job, is there a way to convert it automatically, when the user enters a upc, it should calculate with the Excel?


Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
98jbsz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 10:54 AM   #15
arnelgp
Newly Registered User
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 3,736
Thanks: 46
Thanked 1,267 Times in 1,199 Posts
arnelgp has a spectacular aura about arnelgp has a spectacular aura about
Re: Barcode

I am using qrcode in excel through automation. Upload your excel and I'll write a small sample db.

__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to use barcode gun to scan barcode to ACCESS rickyfong Modules & VBA 2 08-19-2015 07:32 AM
Barcode Lanason General 5 08-15-2014 05:43 AM
Barcode Vinny1512 General 5 07-29-2014 11:51 AM
Barcode help sroot Reports 7 07-23-2014 01:14 PM
Question MS Access and Barcode Scanners / Barcode Label Printers jonathanchye General 4 11-06-2012 07:26 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World