Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2019, 02:40 AM   #1
ReginaF
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 15
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ReginaF is on a distinguished road
New to Navigation Forms

Hello!

I would like to ask for your kind help in the use of Navigation Form.

I have already created a bunch of forms that are 'linked together' with buttons. They work really well, but now I decided to create one Navigation form for some of my already existing forms.
When is inserted the forms to the Navigation Form my command buttons stopped working (many of those buttons are for closing the form and opening a new one).
I have already inserted one form to the Navigation Form and when I click the Open button on the form it does not close the navigation form, however opens the desired 'other form' (that is not in the navigation form). And when I click the Back button on this other form it closes it, however it can not open the form inserted into the navigation form

I would like to ask for your help in resolving this problem. I have never used navigation forms before, and I do not know how to refer to it and its subforms.

Thanks in advance.
Regina

ReginaF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 03:28 AM   #2
vba_php
Software Engineer
 
vba_php's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Iowa City, IA, USA
Posts: 644
Thanks: 79
Thanked 75 Times in 75 Posts
vba_php is on a distinguished road
Re: New to Navigation Forms

Regina,

Your mention of using so many forms doesn't really sound like that great of practice. Please post either the code that is not working or a sample file that we can take a look at.
vba_php is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 06:05 AM   #3
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,623
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,455 Times in 1,436 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: New to Navigation Forms

Hi Regina. When using a Navigation Form, instead of using the OpenForm method, try using the BrowseTo method.

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 06:16 AM   #4
vba_php
Software Engineer
 
vba_php's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Iowa City, IA, USA
Posts: 644
Thanks: 79
Thanked 75 Times in 75 Posts
vba_php is on a distinguished road
Re: New to Navigation Forms

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
try using the BrowseTo method.
i don't think i've ever heard of that. where is it at?
vba_php is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 06:22 AM   #5
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,623
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,455 Times in 1,436 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: New to Navigation Forms

Quote:
Originally Posted by vba_php View Post
i don't think i've ever heard of that. where is it at?
It's a new DoCmd method that came with the new Navigation Form.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
vba_php (11-16-2019)
Old 11-16-2019, 07:50 AM   #6
AccessBlaster
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,245
Thanks: 29
Thanked 285 Times in 271 Posts
AccessBlaster has a spectacular aura about AccessBlaster has a spectacular aura about
Re: New to Navigation Forms

Hi Regina, did you use the wizard to help build your Nav form? I have done a few of these, as long a the donor form(s) are operational prior to adding them to the nav form it should work.

Last edited by AccessBlaster; 11-16-2019 at 08:48 AM.
AccessBlaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 08:02 AM   #7
Micron
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,233
Thanks: 10
Thanked 232 Times in 220 Posts
Micron has a spectacular aura about Micron has a spectacular aura about
Re: New to Navigation Forms

Why use buttons on forms to open some other form rather than the navigation buttons themselves? As stated, seeing the code might be required because nav forms behave somewhat like a form/subform design. The nav form adds an extra layer in the hierarchy.
@ReginaF - hope you have decided to go this route after researching the use of nav forms. They do have their issues - perhaps mostly that you can only have one form open at a time. Open a second form and the first closes.

__________________
Sometimes I just roll my eyes out loud...
Windows 10; Office 365 (Access 2016)
Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 08:12 AM   #8
AccessBlaster
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,245
Thanks: 29
Thanked 285 Times in 271 Posts
AccessBlaster has a spectacular aura about AccessBlaster has a spectacular aura about
Re: New to Navigation Forms

I think the Nav Form is Microsoft's way of updating their switchboard without using that pesky table and button limit. As stated it adds confusing layers.

For people who haven't seen this:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg NavForm.jpg (68.3 KB, 24 views)
AccessBlaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 08:25 AM   #9
Micron
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,233
Thanks: 10
Thanked 232 Times in 220 Posts
Micron has a spectacular aura about Micron has a spectacular aura about
Re: New to Navigation Forms

I would roll my own switchboard or instead of a nav form, use a form with a tab control. You could get the same look and allow several forms to stay open; could even swap form recordsources, load on demand, swap forms on demand, etc.
__________________
Sometimes I just roll my eyes out loud...
Windows 10; Office 365 (Access 2016)
Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 09:37 AM   #10
ReginaF
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 15
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ReginaF is on a distinguished road
Re: New to Navigation Forms

Quote:
Originally Posted by AccessBlaster View Post
Hi Regina, did you use the wizard to help build your Nav form? I have done a few of these, as long a the donor form(s) are operational prior to adding them to the nav form it should work.
Hello,
I think my forms are working. However after I added one of them (Only the the one that is like a Main form, where the other forms are linked to it) to the Nav Form, I can no longer 'return' to that form on the Nav Form(with buttons on my other forms), only to "version" of the form that was not added to the Nav Form. But I would like to create the Nav Form to make my work more user friendly, so it would be really cool if I could fix this, so that my Nav Form would be functional.
ReginaF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 09:41 AM   #11
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,623
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,455 Times in 1,436 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: New to Navigation Forms

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReginaF View Post
Hello,
I think my forms are working. However after I added one of them (Only the the one that is like a Main form, where the other forms are linked to it) to the Nav Form, I can no longer 'return' to that form on the Nav Form(with buttons on my other forms), only to "version" of the form that was not added to the Nav Form. But I would like to create the Nav Form to make my work more user friendly, so it would be really cool if I could fix this, so that my Nav Form would be functional.
Hi Regina. To "fix" your buttons, you could try changing the code from using OpenForm to BrowseTo. Either that or just hide those buttons because the Nav Form already has the buttons either at the top or at the side, depending on your chosen setup.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 09:41 AM   #12
ReginaF
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 15
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ReginaF is on a distinguished road
Re: New to Navigation Forms

Quote:
Originally Posted by Micron View Post
Why use buttons on forms to open some other form rather than the navigation buttons themselves? As stated, seeing the code might be required because nav forms behave somewhat like a form/subform design. The nav form adds an extra layer in the hierarchy.
@ReginaF - hope you have decided to go this route after researching the use of nav forms. They do have their issues - perhaps mostly that you can only have one form open at a time. Open a second form and the first closes.
Hello, thanks for your reply
To be totally honest, I did not do a lot of prior research on Nav Forms before I decided I want to add it to my database :/
I thought it would be a good idea to make my program more "user friendly", as I have a bunch of forms, and I do not wnat them to search through all to find the ones that they need.
ReginaF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 09:51 AM   #13
Micron
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,233
Thanks: 10
Thanked 232 Times in 220 Posts
Micron has a spectacular aura about Micron has a spectacular aura about
Re: New to Navigation Forms

I believe it does appear more user friendly. What it also does is add complexity to the designer and perhaps even introduce obstacles. If you research, you will probably find plenty of posts that for example, ask why they can't pass a value from one form to another. It is possible, but they don't realize that the form is no longer open so their usual methods don't work. Or they want to reference a value on a loaded form but can't figure out the syntax (as I said, the nav form adds a layer).

Anyway, not saying that you should abandon your current design, just that you should know the limitations of nav forms. I'd recommend doing some research to help decide if the issues will be a barrier to your process or simply require some learning to deal with them.
Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 05:20 PM   #14
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 28,316
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1,601 Times in 1,520 Posts
Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all
Re: New to Navigation Forms

Quote:
I think the Nav Form is Microsoft's way of updating their switchboard without using that pesky table and button limit.
The Navigation form has its own limits. The switchboard as originally built limited each page to 8 items but the number of pages was infinite, not so with the Navigation Form.

I didn't like the 8 item limit to the Switchboard. I also didn't like the embedded macros version so I built my version to have 12 items and used the A2003 version as the base. changing the items to 12 per page was easy enough. It's only one line of code plus adding however many new controls as you want but once you get beyond the original 8 limit, you can no longer use the wizard to add items, you have to update the table directly. This is easy enough to do so I never even bothered building a form to help me although that would be easier. I also added the ability to open main forms in DS view without creating a macro.
Here's a picture of one example. Notice the last button is different. By convention, button 12 is always the "return" or "exit" button. You can do what you want but I like the separation. At the top of the switchboard are two textboxes that are only visible when I am logged in. They don't show for ordinary users.


If you are interested, I can upload a completely custom switchboard that uses a subform rather than hardcoded buttons but which is otherwise similar in concept to the built-in Access switchboard. This sample includes rudimentary security that is managed by the switchboard table. this sample isn't well documented at the moment so you're pretty much on your own but I will try to answer questions.

The custom switchboard app also includes this modified old style switchboard.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Switchboard2.JPG (55.7 KB, 72 views)
__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks

Last edited by Pat Hartman; 11-20-2019 at 06:01 PM.
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 07:18 PM   #15
AccessBlaster
.
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,245
Thanks: 29
Thanked 285 Times in 271 Posts
AccessBlaster has a spectacular aura about AccessBlaster has a spectacular aura about
Re: New to Navigation Forms

I agree the roll your own approach is superior, I take inspiration from the designs you and others have shared.

AccessBlaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Navigation Forms Acropolis Forms 2 07-31-2013 01:08 AM
Navigation forms liamfitz Forms 3 11-27-2012 06:56 AM
Navigation Forms Christine Jackson Forms 6 05-18-2012 07:47 AM
Sub Forms Navigation roymcd Forms 3 07-02-2010 07:33 AM
Forms Navigation dapo Forms 1 01-18-2006 06:13 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World