Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2019, 07:56 AM   #1
ontopofmalvern
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 10
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ontopofmalvern is on a distinguished road
Random problem

Hi
I have a fairly complicated database, I have about 12 different users using the same clone of the front end accessing the same back end on a server. One user (and only one user) is experiencing several unique problems. At least half my others user are using the same model Laptop with the same version of windows and Access but only this one user is experiencing these problems.

In one case (the one I can get to the bottom off) her version simply doesn't carry out a very simple SQL update instruction run from VBA. There are no SQL errors generated it just doesn't carry out the update.

As said I have a dozen other users running an exact clone of the same Front End without problem. There is another form that causes her Access to crash (haven't quite got to exactly what provokes it but it is while appending a new record). Both these problems are persistent on her machine but do not ever occur on any others.

Any ideas of where to go with this would be great.

ontopofmalvern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 08:01 AM   #2
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,651
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,459 Times in 1,440 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Random problem

Hi. One thing I would try is isolate the machine from the user. For example, would she still have the same problems if you were able to swap out the machine with another user not having any issues? If the problem switches to the other user, then the issue is with the machine. If the problem follows the original user, then I would check her permissions and anything else "user" related.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
ontopofmalvern (11-11-2019)
Old 10-22-2019, 10:15 AM   #3
ontopofmalvern
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 10
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ontopofmalvern is on a distinguished road
Re: Random problem

Many thanks for quick input. Defiantly not the user, definately something on her laptop. She is pretty limited what she can change as she doesn't have admin rights. What is so odd is that it is 2 very specific actions that are problematic (there maybe more unknown), as far as I can tell everything else works fine there are plenty of other update and append operations that work fine it's just these two. One crashes Access the other just doesn't happen.

ontopofmalvern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2019, 10:44 AM   #4
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,651
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,459 Times in 1,440 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Random problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by ontopofmalvern View Post
Many thanks for quick input. Defiantly not the user, definately something on her laptop. She is pretty limited what she can change as she doesn't have admin rights. What is so odd is that it is 2 very specific actions that are problematic (there maybe more unknown), as far as I can tell everything else works fine there are plenty of other update and append operations that work fine it's just these two. One crashes Access the other just doesn't happen.
What are the chances to ask IT to refresh her machine?
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
ontopofmalvern (11-11-2019)
Old 10-25-2019, 06:30 AM   #5
gemma-the-husky
Super Moderator
 
gemma-the-husky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 13,829
Thanks: 56
Thanked 1,032 Times in 998 Posts
gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all gemma-the-husky is a name known to all
Re: Random problem

it might be worth checking the lap top processor.
There can be issues with multi-core processors - try researching processor affinity


https://www.techjunkie.com/restrict-...essor-affinity
__________________
Dave (Male!)
Gemma was my dog

if a poster helps you, please click the scales at the bottom left of this posting, or use the thanks button alongside.
gemma-the-husky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 06:39 AM   #6
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 14,761
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,596 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Random problem

Whenever this happens, you have to become a surgeon and do some exploratory work.

1. Compare the library references list between any correctly working machine and the problem machine. (Code window >> Tools >> References)

2. Verify proper security permissions for the unlucky user. (From the given machine, browse to the back-end file, right-click >> Properties >> Security >> Effective Permissions and then compare to a working machine.)

3. What is different about the actions regarding other things that work from that machine? What do these actions touch that some other actions don't touch?

4. Compact & Repair the miscreant front-end file.

5. If that C&R doesn't fix it, you said this was a clone of a front-end. So give the person a new clone.
__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to The_Doc_Man For This Useful Post:
ontopofmalvern (11-11-2019)
Old 11-11-2019, 08:35 AM   #7
ontopofmalvern
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 10
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ontopofmalvern is on a distinguished road
Re: Random problem

Many thanks for everyone's help and apologies for my tardy thanks. I did eventually solve the problems Doc_Man's surgeon analogy was spot on. The main problem came down to one of users being a more efficient and triggering an event before she'd finished selecting her choice from a combo-box so changing event from 'onchange' to 'afterupdate' cured it. Looking back at tDBguy initial response I should have picked it up there. It's all a learning curve.

ontopofmalvern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 09:12 AM   #8
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,651
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,459 Times in 1,440 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Random problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by ontopofmalvern View Post
Many thanks for everyone's help and apologies for my tardy thanks. I did eventually solve the problems Doc_Man's surgeon analogy was spot on. The main problem came down to one of users being a more efficient and triggering an event before she'd finished selecting her choice from a combo-box so changing event from 'onchange' to 'afterupdate' cured it. Looking back at tDBguy initial response I should have picked it up there. It's all a learning curve.
Hi. Congratulations! Glad to hear you got it sorted out. Good luck with your project.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:33 PM   #9
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 14,761
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,725 Times in 1,596 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Random problem

Ah, yes... Access gives you the ability to use so many different events that it is MARVELOUS - except that sometimes it can be as confusing as an art nouveau movie. Picking the right event can be difficult sometimes. We've all been there and can easily sympathize. Glad you figured it out. Glad my suggestion of an orderly exploration helped you to focus on the clues.

__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VBA module to generate Unique random alphanumeric strings of random length world33 Modules & VBA 13 10-19-2017 07:47 AM
Random "Database has been opened read only" problem George-Bowyer General 1 07-18-2016 07:59 PM
Random Selector problem shark70 Forms 0 10-28-2004 03:56 AM
[SOLVED] Form to display random random Q & A dastardly Forms 0 06-10-2004 08:16 AM
Potential Problem with Using Random Number crhodus Forms 1 04-23-2001 04:34 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World