Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Tables

Old 11-14-2019, 11:56 AM   #1
whatever2
Newly Registered User

whatever2 is on a distinguished road
Could use a mentor...

Hi,
I have a lot of experience with Excel and a little experience with Power BI, but I am almost completely new to Access.
I am having a very hard time achieving simple tasks in Access.
So if anyone can help with this project, it will probably be a cake walk for you.

I am just trying to make a simple form and log for people to create a new request, others to approve/reject said request, and to update and/or close said request when completed.

Problem #1 (I have a long list of these simple problems for you):
I am replacing an existing Excel-based system, so I want the new request system to start at # 1001.
I do not want to use the primary-key auto-number field for this based on recent research that one should never use this as viable data. However, WHY IN THE HELL is it so difficult to create a simple column that can look at the last record and just ADD 1??? WTF.

I have tried several different solutions and keep getting errors I cannot explain, like syntax, type mismatch, can't use that function in a calculated field, etc, etc. How can something so simple and common be this difficult?

Please help. I've tried queries, calculated fields, VBA code, Dmax, DLast, COUNTER, all sorts of things and can't figure out how to get any of it to work.

If we can get past this, I've got a hundred more things that should be simple but I cannot figure out. Microsoft's help articles are total shit. Yeah, thanks for telling me what to do but not how to do it. o_O

Last edited by whatever2; 11-14-2019 at 12:04 PM.
whatever2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 12:03 PM   #2
theDBguy
Iím here to help

Thanked 1,461 Times in 1,442 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Could use a mentor...

Hi. Welcome to AWF!