Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2019, 01:41 PM   #1
Hello1
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 201
Thanks: 69
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hello1 is on a distinguished road
Corrupt database

Strange things happening with one of my .mdb files.
In one table, there are records which cant contain a Null value but they do and have ### instead real value (screenshoot in attachment)
I replaced the database with a backup one but then again same happened when the same records had to be added.

Im posting in attachment the structure of the table and the other related table as some of the data in it. Also I will post what the MSysCompactError table contains.
Attached Images
File Type: png StavkaIzlazDesign.PNG (11.0 KB, 18 views)
File Type: png StavkaIzlaz.PNG (21.2 KB, 19 views)
File Type: png Relationship.PNG (8.1 KB, 12 views)
File Type: png MSysCompactError.PNG (22.3 KB, 10 views)
File Type: png IzlazDesign.PNG (19.9 KB, 8 views)

Hello1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 01:46 PM   #2
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,656
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,463 Times in 1,444 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Corrupt database

Can't remember if the recent issue with the Windows Updates affect MDBs, but maybe they do. Have you looked into it yet? For example, what version of Windows are you using and what build?
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 01:53 PM   #3
Hello1
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 201
Thanks: 69
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hello1 is on a distinguished road
Re: Corrupt database

Edition: Windows 10 Pro
Version: 1903
OS build: 18362.476

To be honest I have no idea, the database is not at my PC tho.
Which issue do you exactly mean? Could you provide a link about it?

Thanks

Btw office is the 2007 one

Hello1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 01:55 PM   #4
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,656
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,463 Times in 1,444 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Corrupt database

Again, not sure it this affects your, but you could start here to see what I meant.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 02:19 PM   #5
Hello1
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 201
Thanks: 69
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hello1 is on a distinguished road
Re: Corrupt database

I read it however, Im not sure that it is the exact same problem, the symptoms seem different. I can still use and open the database.
Any way to try and recover the lost records?
Hello1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 02:20 PM   #6
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,656
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,463 Times in 1,444 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Corrupt database

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hello1 View Post
I read it however, Im not sure that it is the exact same problem, the symptoms seem different. I can still use and open the database.
Any way to try and recover the lost records?
That's what I was trying to say earlier. I wasn't sure if you're affected, but it couldn't hurt to check if the recommended solutions work for your situation too. As for recovering "lost" records, only if you have a backup copy (especially after a C&R has been performed already).
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 02:45 PM   #7
Hello1
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 201
Thanks: 69
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hello1 is on a distinguished road
Re: Corrupt database

So I suppose not worth trying any mdb repair/recovery software?

Hello1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 02:58 PM   #8
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,656
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,463 Times in 1,444 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Corrupt database

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hello1 View Post
So I suppose not worth trying any mdb repair/recovery software?
That depends on the potential return on investment (ROI). How important are the lost data and how much are you willing to pay to "maybe" recover it? If you have a good backup plan, you should only lose a few of them, and maybe make it easier to recover the lost records by simply re-entering them again. Just my 2 cents...
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
Hello1 (11-14-2019)
Old 11-15-2019, 01:00 AM   #9
Hello1
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 201
Thanks: 69
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hello1 is on a distinguished road
Re: Corrupt database

Alright, there are some backups and yes I guess I will use it but how to prevent this from happening again?
It's strange that it happened on a backup database too.
I'm not sure if it could be an virus infection, but the windows defender didn't find anything suspicious on the PC. Maybe migrating to SQL Server but before doing so I would like to find the cause and see how else to prevent it.
Hello1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 01:46 AM   #10
isladogs
High Noon Moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 11,382
Thanks: 115
Thanked 3,114 Times in 2,831 Posts
isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold
Re: Corrupt database

Your StavÖ. Table doesn't have a primary key though you do have an autonumber field.
The fact that several of those are null does indeed indicate corruption.
As already stated you will need to delete those corrupt records then make your autunumber fields the PK.
Check whether the FK field allows fulls. It shouldn't for RI to work.

As for the cause of the corruption, are multiple users sharing the database?

Out of interest, what do you see if you widen the columns for the 2 fields showing #######?
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Common sense and a sense of humour are the same thing, moving at different speeds. (Clive James - RIP)
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 07:36 AM   #11
Hello1
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 201
Thanks: 69
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hello1 is on a distinguished road
Re: Corrupt database

Quote:
As already stated you will need to delete those corrupt records then make your autunumber fields the PK.
Check whether the FK field allows fulls. It shouldn't for RI to work.
Would it be better just to take the backup database?

Quote:
As for the cause of the corruption, are multiple users sharing the database?
As Im aware only one user is using the database, locally.

Quote:
Out of interest, what do you see if you widen the columns for the 2 fields showing #######?
Nothing it stays as it is, #####
Hello1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2019, 07:47 AM   #12
isladogs
High Noon Moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 11,382
Thanks: 115
Thanked 3,114 Times in 2,831 Posts
isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold
Re: Corrupt database

Either use your backup or delete the corrupted records - whichever means fewer records are lost.
Check whether you have Automatic Compact On Close ticked in Access Options.
If so un-tick it as that can cause corruption

__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Common sense and a sense of humour are the same thing, moving at different speeds. (Clive James - RIP)
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
access , corrupt database , mdb

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corrupt Database geno General 9 03-14-2012 03:26 PM
Corrupt Database CCIDBMNG General 16 05-24-2008 06:43 AM
Database Corrupt Please help danny123 General 9 03-26-2007 11:59 PM
Corrupt Database xcao General 0 03-05-2004 06:58 AM
Corrupt Database Haynesey General 4 05-12-2003 05:26 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World