Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Theory and practice of database design

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2018, 11:01 PM   #16
NauticalGent
Pristine Curmudgeon
Gold Supporter
 
NauticalGent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Naples, Italy (EXPAT from Virginia)
Posts: 1,385
Thanks: 302
Thanked 176 Times in 156 Posts
NauticalGent will become famous soon enough NauticalGent will become famous soon enough
Re: Using Microsoft Access with Sharepoint lists

No worries.
Here is the first in a series of videos I watched to prepare myself for the migration. Steve's tutorials can be long winded for the impatient such as myself, but they are pretty darn awesome:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=muuj...SPr5FZ&index=1

__________________
“I had the RIGHT to remain silent...but I didn’t have the ABILITY.” - Ron White
NauticalGent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 04:09 AM   #17
CNorway
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 24
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
CNorway is on a distinguished road
Re: Using Microsoft Access with Sharepoint lists

We recently moved to Sharepoint 365. That has messed with my overall use of SP for storing my current front-end and using a front-end updater on the end user's computers. This no longer works. My backend is in SQL Server. So, now I have to have the end users actually go to the sharepoint 365 whenever the front-end version they have gets old. I have a local table and one on SQL sever to keep track of what the current version is. It is a little bit of a pain. However, as long as there is no front-end updater that can grab the current version from SP 365... I am out of luck.
CNorway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 04:47 AM   #18
NauticalGent
Pristine Curmudgeon
Gold Supporter
 
NauticalGent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Naples, Italy (EXPAT from Virginia)
Posts: 1,385
Thanks: 302
Thanked 176 Times in 156 Posts
NauticalGent will become famous soon enough NauticalGent will become famous soon enough
Re: Using Microsoft Access with Sharepoint lists

I would disagree. There are many FE updaters, but this is the one I use. It should suffice for your needs.
https://access-programmers.co.uk/for...d.php?t=207187

__________________
“I had the RIGHT to remain silent...but I didn’t have the ABILITY.” - Ron White

Last edited by NauticalGent; 06-26-2018 at 04:57 AM.
NauticalGent is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NauticalGent For This Useful Post:
CNorway (06-28-2018)
Old 06-28-2018, 01:44 AM   #19
CNorway
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 24
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
CNorway is on a distinguished road
Re: Using Microsoft Access with Sharepoint lists

Quote:
Originally Posted by NauticalGent View Post
I would disagree. There are many FE updaters, but this is the one I use. It should suffice for your needs.
https://access-programmers.co.uk/for...d.php?t=207187
Thanks for the link. It isn't clear to me how to update the code. Is there an instruction on which part of this code should be changed and how? Thanks.
CNorway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 01:15 PM   #20
NauticalGent
Pristine Curmudgeon
Gold Supporter
 
NauticalGent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Naples, Italy (EXPAT from Virginia)
Posts: 1,385
Thanks: 302
Thanked 176 Times in 156 Posts
NauticalGent will become famous soon enough NauticalGent will become famous soon enough
Re: Using Microsoft Access with Sharepoint lists

The author of that code is Bill Mosca. He has agreed to share his article with you if you post your question of a Yahoo NewsGroup that he frequents. I will PM the details to you.

What have you tried so far?
__________________
“I had the RIGHT to remain silent...but I didn’t have the ABILITY.” - Ron White
NauticalGent is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to NauticalGent For This Useful Post:
CNorway (06-29-2018)
Old 06-29-2018, 07:30 PM   #21
CNorway
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 24
Thanks: 20
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
CNorway is on a distinguished road
Re: Using Microsoft Access with Sharepoint lists

Hi,

Yes, that would be fantastic to get in touch with him. The key questions for me is where the code should be placed and which lines I need to update with my information (server locations, file names, database names... etc)

I don't have the knowledge of VBA to understand what this code is doing which is part of the problem for me, unfortunately.

I also googled this code and found all locations on Google where it shows up hoping that maybe someone explains how to use it. Though, I didn't see an explanation on the implementation of the code.

Thanks again!
Best Regards,
Chris

CNorway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access tables to sharepoint lists bsells General 1 08-24-2015 12:41 PM
Access forms not working after re-link of sharepoint lists cbkebasen Access Web 1 02-26-2014 07:48 PM
Question Access 07 Form using Sharepoint 07 lists - list data not refreshing Mailliw General 1 01-24-2013 10:56 AM
Can not link from MS Access to SharePoint admin lists modelist Modules & VBA 0 07-23-2010 12:28 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Sponsored Links

How to advertise

Media Kit


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World