Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Modules & VBA

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2019, 09:44 AM   #46
Hello1
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 201
Thanks: 69
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hello1 is on a distinguished road
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

Sorry, that was my test string and I forgot to change it. It will actually be the Native client 10.0 but as I mentioned earlier, one machine has the Native client 11.0 so I will probably keep the driver version in a table with the server name, so I will grab it from there.

BTW: how can I completely uninstall the custom LTM from access 2010?
When I go the way the author describes when updating the LTM I still see it in the AddIns. I did a mistake when I installed it the first time in access 2010, I run the .accde from my dowloads folder instead AppData/..../AddIns

Edit: I checked now and it seems its uninstalled completely, I will try it again now

Still same error (attachment)
I will try later on my laptop where I have a clean installation of windows, just have to add office.
Attached Images
File Type: png LTMErrorAfterInstalling.PNG (5.2 KB, 4 views)


Last edited by Hello1; 11-08-2019 at 09:53 AM.
Hello1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 10:07 AM   #47
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,549
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,432 Times in 1,413 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

Hi. As I said earlier, the author/developer (Dale) is willing to work with you, if you contact him directly. If you want his email address, send me a PM.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 10:10 AM   #48
isladogs
High Noon Moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 11,292
Thanks: 115
Thanked 3,090 Times in 2,808 Posts
isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

I wonder whether the Native Client is backwards compatible.
In other words I wonder whether the PC with Native Client 11.0 will still be OK if you use 10.0 for all workstations. Certainly worth checking.

__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Common sense and a sense of humour are the same thing, moving at different speeds. (Clive James - RIP)
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 10:16 AM   #49
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,549
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,432 Times in 1,413 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

Quote:
Originally Posted by isladogs View Post
I wonder whether the Native Client is backwards compatible.
In other words I wonder whether the PC with Native Client 11.0 will still be OK if you use 10.0 for all workstations. Certainly worth checking.
My thought on that is, and it could be wrong, if the Connection String says "11.0" and the computer it's running on has 10.0 installed, it will probably fail. Just a guess though...


Edit: Or, did I misunderstand your question? Was I reading it backwards? If the Connection String says "10.0" but 11.0 is installed, would it still work? I wonder too...
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2019, 10:22 AM   #50
isladogs
High Noon Moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 11,292
Thanks: 115
Thanked 3,090 Times in 2,808 Posts
isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

My question was whether using the 'lowest common denominator' (NC 10.0) will work on all machines. Same idea as developing in the lowest versions of Access used by your clients

The reverse won't work.
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Common sense and a sense of humour are the same thing, moving at different speeds. (Clive James - RIP)
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:19 AM   #51
Hello1
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 201
Thanks: 69
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hello1 is on a distinguished road
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

Unfortunately its not, I tried it with the links having in it the Native Client 10.0 while the workstation only has the Native Client 11.0 driver. It caused an error in the linking process, cant remember exactly the description. However, when I changed the link string to Native Client 11.0 it linked the tables without errors.
Hello1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:50 AM   #52
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,549
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,432 Times in 1,413 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hello1 View Post
Unfortunately its not, I tried it with the links having in it the Native Client 10.0 while the workstation only has the Native Client 11.0 driver. It caused an error in the linking process, cant remember exactly the description. However, when I changed the link string to Native Client 11.0 it linked the tables without errors.
Hi. Interesting. It's good to know. I wouldn't have expected it, so thanks for the update. But just to confirm, you had 11 in the connection string, but the computer only has 10 installed, and it worked, correct?

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:55 AM   #53
Hello1
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 201
Thanks: 69
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hello1 is on a distinguished road
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

Other way around. I had 10 in the connection string and the computer has only 11 installed. That way it didn't work. When I updated the connection string to 11 it did work.

I didn't have the chance to test what you wrote. 11 in string, 10 being the only driver on computer.
Hello1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 08:57 AM   #54
isladogs
High Noon Moderator
 
isladogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 11,292
Thanks: 115
Thanked 3,090 Times in 2,808 Posts
isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold isladogs is a splendid one to behold
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

DBG
I don't believe that Hello1 said that.

Hello1
Can you let us know what the error description was when you used NC10.0 on the 11.0 machine.

Also have you tried connecting with the default SQL Server driver that all machines should have
__________________
If this answer has helped, please click the Thanks button and/or click the 'reputation scales' symbol on the left.

Colin (Mendip Data Systems)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Website links:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Common sense and a sense of humour are the same thing, moving at different speeds. (Clive James - RIP)
isladogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 09:01 AM   #55
Hello1
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 201
Thanks: 69
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Hello1 is on a distinguished road
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

Alright, I will make a screenshoot next time I try it. No, I didn't try the default SQL Server driver, I will try that one too, I suppose that one should work. I finished my form and code for the connection string so I will have to do some testing in the upcoming days and I will also test the mentioned above.

Edit: one maybe interesting thing I had on the machine I tried the code was after running the relinking code successfully the tabes, forms.. were opening much slower than with previous connections. However, then I realized I didn't write the whole SQL Server name in the connection string, just the computer name, so that's probably the reason. But I realized that later, when I already finished that short testing.
Hello1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 09:03 AM   #56
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,549
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,432 Times in 1,413 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hello1 View Post
Other way around. I had 10 in the connection string and the computer has only 11 installed. That way it didn't work. When I updated the connection string to 11 it did work.

I didn't have the chance to test what you wrote. 11 in string, 10 being the only driver on computer.
Okay. Thanks for the clarification. It would be nice to know what happens if you could test having 11 in the code but only10 installed on the computer.
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 09:14 AM   #57
pbaldy
Wino Moderator
 
pbaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 33,384
Thanks: 13
Thanked 4,123 Times in 4,055 Posts
pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

Quote:
Originally Posted by theDBguy View Post
Okay. Thanks for the clarification. It would be nice to know what happens if you could test having 11 in the code but only10 installed on the computer.
It fails as I would expect. RTE 3151, ODBC connection failed.
__________________
Paul
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2019

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pbaldy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 09:16 AM   #58
theDBguy
I知 here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,549
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,432 Times in 1,413 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

Quote:
Originally Posted by pbaldy View Post
It fails as I would expect. RTE 3151, ODBC connection failed.
Hi Paul. That's what I expected too, as I mentioned in Post #49, but I just didn't have a way to test it. Thanks for confirming it. Cheers!
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 09:17 AM   #59
pbaldy
Wino Moderator
 
pbaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 33,384
Thanks: 13
Thanked 4,123 Times in 4,055 Posts
pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold
Re: Linking SQL Server tables with VBA

No problem.

__________________
Paul
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2019

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pbaldy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Linking Access tables to a remote SQL Server ken1921 General 3 01-04-2016 08:10 AM
Question Linking SQL Server Tables Eddie Mason General 3 08-30-2012 04:56 PM
Linking SQL Server tables reginab Tables 0 05-03-2010 06:50 AM
Linking SQL Server Tables to Access via ADO AlexTeslin Modules & VBA 15 09-11-2008 12:41 PM
Linking tables to BE using server name, possible? mattkorguk Tables 9 01-03-2008 07:58 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World