Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Tables

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-13-2009, 11:12 PM   #1
thorsonb
anonymust
 
thorsonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thorsonb is on a distinguished road
Post Change Curency Symbol in Field

Good day all.

I have a data base, and I have a table, a column called "Price"
for this column, i want it to be a currency, so i selected my "Data type" as currency.
but i want to change the currency symbol! I only get the dollar sign $
I would like to change it ot the Euro Symbol how do i get this done ?

Thanks in advance.

thorsonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 01:00 AM   #2
DCrake
Remembered
 
DCrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Burnley, Lancashire
Posts: 8,634
Thanks: 8
Thanked 325 Times in 208 Posts
DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via Skype™ to DCrake
Re: Change Curency Symbol in Field

In the table you can set the field format from Currency to Euro.

David
__________________
David Crake


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
The Home of Simple Software Solutions.

O/S Windows XP (SP3) & Windows 7 64bit
Access 2003 (version 11.0)
Access 2007 (version 12.0)

Remember when posting sample databases you will get a better response if it is pre Access 2007 - not all people have it installed.
DCrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 03:45 AM   #3
Simon_MT
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,177
Thanks: 2
Thanked 162 Times in 158 Posts
Simon_MT has a spectacular aura about Simon_MT has a spectacular aura about
Re: Change Curency Symbol in Field

You are better to have Currency in your Table rather than creating confusion as to what Currency the Price should be.

Simon

Simon_MT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 07:45 AM   #4
thorsonb
anonymust
 
thorsonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thorsonb is on a distinguished road
Re: Change Curency Symbol in Field

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCrake View Post
In the table you can set the field format from Currency to Euro.

David
And how Do I do that May I ask?
thorsonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 08:07 AM   #5
thorsonb
anonymust
 
thorsonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thorsonb is on a distinguished road
Re: Change Curency Symbol in Field

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon_MT View Post
You are better to have Currency in your Table rather than creating confusion as to what Currency the Price should be.

Simon
Huh?

You mean Type in the € Symbol each time??

I prefer to just type in the digits
eg. " 3.65 "
and then when I leave the cell, it turns to " €3.65 "
thorsonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 08:12 AM   #6
Kryst51
Singin' in the Hou. Rain
 
Kryst51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,898
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Kryst51 will become famous soon enough Kryst51 will become famous soon enough
Re: Change Curency Symbol in Field

See Attachment for how.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Format number ex.jpg (98.4 KB, 1475 views)
__________________
~Krystal


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Table defined lookups, not lookups in general
ACCESS 2010
Kryst51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 08:24 AM   #7
Kryst51
Singin' in the Hou. Rain
 
Kryst51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,898
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Kryst51 will become famous soon enough Kryst51 will become famous soon enough
Re: Change Curency Symbol in Field

Great minds think alike

__________________
~Krystal


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Table defined lookups, not lookups in general
ACCESS 2010
Kryst51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 12:06 AM   #8
DCrake
Remembered
 
DCrake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Burnley, Lancashire
Posts: 8,634
Thanks: 8
Thanked 325 Times in 208 Posts
DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light DCrake is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via Skype™ to DCrake
Re: Change Curency Symbol in Field

Post #2 gave the solution, why did it take so long to resolve?
__________________
David Crake


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
The Home of Simple Software Solutions.

O/S Windows XP (SP3) & Windows 7 64bit
Access 2003 (version 11.0)
Access 2007 (version 12.0)

Remember when posting sample databases you will get a better response if it is pre Access 2007 - not all people have it installed.
DCrake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 09:05 AM   #9
thorsonb
anonymust
 
thorsonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thorsonb is on a distinguished road
Re: Change Curency Symbol in Field

Thanks guys!.. Forgot to say thanks
thorsonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 04:17 AM   #10
Misiek
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: London, UK, GMT +0
Posts: 249
Thanks: 16
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Misiek is on a distinguished road
Re: Change Curency Symbol in Field

Sorry to dig out an old post.
If you are like me, based in the UK and your only visible options are pounds () and euros (€) and you need the dollar symbol ($), You just need to delete the word "Currency" in your Table field format and paste this:
Code:
$#,##0.00
This is standard ANSI code.

Misiek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
currency , euro , field , symbol , table

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Change field on all records in dataset ST4RCUTTER Forms 5 02-21-2010 05:34 AM
change old value to new value on form needhepacc Forms 2 10-29-2008 07:18 PM
Change case in EmployeeName field krazykasper Modules & VBA 5 09-12-2008 04:39 AM
ADOX field creation - change to not required dleake Modules & VBA 0 07-13-2006 02:41 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World