Go Back   Access World Forums > Apps and Windows > Other Software

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2019, 12:17 PM   #1
Martin Wulfe
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Martin Wulfe is on a distinguished road
Connecting to a Google Sheet

Is there anything new to help me link my Access database to a Google sheet?

Martin Wulfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 04:57 PM   #2
Micron
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,043
Thanks: 10
Thanked 207 Times in 196 Posts
Micron has a spectacular aura about Micron has a spectacular aura about
Re: Connecting to a Google Sheet

Can't help with that, other than to issue a word of caution on building anything around a product that Google supports today but probably not tomorrow, if you get my meaning.
If you're downloading the data first, that would be different.
__________________
Sometimes I just roll my eyes out loud...
Windows 10; Office 365 (Access 2016)
Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2019, 10:42 PM   #3
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 10,306
Thanks: 534
Thanked 937 Times in 888 Posts
Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: Connecting to a Google Sheet

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Wulfe View Post
Is there anything new to help me link my Access database to a Google sheet?
Find and read Bruce McPherson's desktop liberation website.

Bruce has done a lot with VBA and Google Apps scripts integration. He might have something that you could use, I'm not too sure!

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

__________________
Code:
                 |||||
               @(~^~)@
-------------oOo---U---oOo-------------
|                                     |
|      Uncle Gizmo              |
|                                     |
|                                     |
| Get $20 worth of "Nifty Code"       |
|      
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| | Ooo | |_________________ooO____( )________| ( ) ) / \ ( (_/ \_)
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 12:42 AM   #4
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 10,306
Thanks: 534
Thanked 937 Times in 888 Posts
Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: Connecting to a Google Sheet

http://ramblings.mcpher.com

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
__________________
Code:
                 |||||
               @(~^~)@
-------------oOo---U---oOo-------------
|                                     |
|      Uncle Gizmo              |
|                                     |
|                                     |
| Get $20 worth of "Nifty Code"       |
|      
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| | Ooo | |_________________ooO____( )________| ( ) ) / \ ( (_/ \_)
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 12:57 AM   #5
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 10,306
Thanks: 534
Thanked 937 Times in 888 Posts
Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: Connecting to a Google Sheet

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Wulfe View Post
link my Access database to a Google sheet?
In this blog:-

http://ramblings.mcpher.com/Home/exc.../excelsheetsv4

Bruce demonstrates how to upload and download to an Excel spreadsheet.

In other words there's nothing on Bruce's site directly related to MS Access, (I don't think) however if the code works with VBA in Excel, then you should be able to adapt it to work with Microsoft Access...

I have a vague memory of trying to use Bruce's code to integrate MS Access and GAS a while back, however I think I ran into a problem in that I could not get one of the class modules to work.

I'm not really sure of my ground here, but I think it was a class module from somewhere else. A JSON one if I recall....

After the fact, I realised my mistake, in other words when you can't get something to work, it's invariably user error! In this case I think my mistake was, I was either using a module as a class or a class as a module.

I don't know if I've still got my unsuccessful attempts hidden away somewhere.

It is something I've been meaning to go back to. If you fancy tackling it, then maybe we could work on it together.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
__________________
Code:
                 |||||
               @(~^~)@
-------------oOo---U---oOo-------------
|                                     |
|      Uncle Gizmo              |
|                                     |
|                                     |
| Get $20 worth of "Nifty Code"       |
|      
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| | Ooo | |_________________ooO____( )________| ( ) ) / \ ( (_/ \_)
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 11:50 AM   #6
Cubsm22p
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 36
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cubsm22p is on a distinguished road
Re: Connecting to a Google Sheet

I would recommend exporting all your access tables to excel spreadsheets. Then from there you can import those excel spreadsheets into Google spreadsheets.

Good luck,

Last edited by Cubsm22p; 03-22-2019 at 06:31 AM.
Cubsm22p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 12:53 PM   #7
Uncle Gizmo
Nifty Access Guy
 
Uncle Gizmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Newbury Berks UK
Posts: 10,306
Thanks: 534
Thanked 937 Times in 888 Posts
Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough Uncle Gizmo is a jewel in the rough
Send a message via Skype™ to Uncle Gizmo
Re: Connecting to a Google Sheet

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cubsm22p View Post
As Gizmo said I would recommend exporting all your access tables to excel spreadsheets.
Please read my content again, I didn't say that!


__________________
Code:
                 |||||
               @(~^~)@
-------------oOo---U---oOo-------------
|                                     |
|      Uncle Gizmo              |
|                                     |
|                                     |
| Get $20 worth of "Nifty Code"       |
|      
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
| | Ooo | |_________________ooO____( )________| ( ) ) / \ ( (_/ \_)
Uncle Gizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
connection , google , sheets

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VBA Macro to Google Sheet Macro Manikarthisnr Modules & VBA 5 05-30-2017 03:24 AM
Google Drive or Google Photos and using or showing images in a database voodoo_ca General 4 12-22-2015 01:57 PM
Excel automation for detecting new sheet and extracting data to another sheet germaine Excel 5 05-10-2010 10:41 AM
Connecting Access 07 to Google Earth via KML TROUBLE! McAccess Modules & VBA 0 11-12-2009 03:33 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World