Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-25-2019, 08:08 AM   #1
MilaK
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 282
Thanks: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
MilaK is on a distinguished road
Record Selector Funtion

Hello,

Iím looking for a function that will return true or false if a record is selected with a record selector on a continues form. My intention is to select multiple records and use the output of this function to apply conditional formatting to the form.
Any input on this method would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

MilaK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 08:15 AM   #2
arnelgp
error reading drive A:
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 8,568
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,629 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Record Selector Funtion

correct me if im wrong but I don't think there is such a function.
why not add a Yes/No field to the table and then you can tick it.
__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 02:24 PM   #3
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 11,333
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,670 Times in 3,538 Posts
CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Record Selector Funtion

do you mean something like this?
https://www.access-programmers.co.uk...d.php?t=289116

__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 03:32 PM   #4
Micron
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,083
Thanks: 10
Thanked 219 Times in 207 Posts
Micron has a spectacular aura about Micron has a spectacular aura about
Re: Record Selector Funtion

The record selector will fire the click event of the form but I have no idea what you'd do with that when picking multiple selectors.
__________________
Sometimes I just roll my eyes out loud...
Windows 10; Office 365 (Access 2016)

Last edited by Micron; 07-25-2019 at 03:41 PM. Reason: misread the requirement.
Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 03:50 PM   #5
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 5,866
Thanks: 57
Thanked 1,282 Times in 1,263 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Record Selector Funtion

Hi. As Micron said, you could try using the Form's Click event and check the value in the SelTop and SelHeight properties. Hope it helps...
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 05:52 PM   #6
Micron
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,083
Thanks: 10
Thanked 219 Times in 207 Posts
Micron has a spectacular aura about Micron has a spectacular aura about
Re: Record Selector Funtion

see post 4
https://access-programmers.co.uk/for...d.php?t=196360 for an example of using Sel properties for this
Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2019, 05:43 AM   #7
MilaK
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 282
Thanks: 33
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
MilaK is on a distinguished road
Re: Record Selector Funtion

Quote:
Originally Posted by arnelgp View Post
correct me if im wrong but I don't think there is such a function.
why not add a Yes/No field to the table and then you can tick it.
Please explain how I would "tick it".

Thanks

MilaK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2019, 07:39 AM   #8
arnelgp
error reading drive A:
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 8,568
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,744 Times in 2,629 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Record Selector Funtion

here is what I got so far.
inspired by mr. cj_london's work.
Click on the Record selector to highlight.
there is no additional textbox on the background.
Attached Files
File Type: zip RecordSelectorClick.zip (53.3 KB, 7 views)

__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
form

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
highlight record on click Record Selector eugz Modules & VBA 1 10-23-2014 07:35 PM
Funtion for Record of Total Records Pisteuo Reports 3 04-20-2010 05:28 AM
Stop next record selector creating new record BarryMK Forms 10 03-29-2007 03:37 AM
Problem with SubForm - record selector always jumps to first record bdg4820 Forms 2 05-30-2006 11:06 AM
Preventing record selector, creating new record BAzZ General 2 05-19-2005 07:57 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World