Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Reports

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-11-2013, 04:45 AM   #1
jsic1210
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 188
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jsic1210 is on a distinguished road
Multi-Column Report

Hi all,
In a report that has multiple columns, is it possible to have a report header that is centered and spans across both columns?
Thanks!

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Keep Calm and Chive On!
jsic1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 04:50 AM   #2
pr2-eugin
Super Moderator
 
pr2-eugin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 8,498
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,067 Times in 2,014 Posts
pr2-eugin has a spectacular aura about pr2-eugin has a spectacular aura about pr2-eugin has a spectacular aura about
Re: Multi-Column Report

Is that not something you can change in the Properties of the Header? Align = Center?
__________________
Regards,
Paul Eugin

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
!
!
Windows 7 Professional, MS Access 2010
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If the above post has helped you, please click the scales
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
or click the 'Thumbs up'. Cheers.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



pr2-eugin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 05:08 AM   #3
jsic1210
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 188
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jsic1210 is on a distinguished road
Re: Multi-Column Report

No, I'm only able to center it within the text box. The text box only spans across the first column. Like this:
Code:
Header
Column1   Column2
But I want this:
Code:
------Header------
Column1    Column2

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Keep Calm and Chive On!
jsic1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 06:09 AM   #4
EternalMyrtle
I'm still alive
 
EternalMyrtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Trap door in the sun
Posts: 533
Thanks: 120
Thanked 67 Times in 66 Posts
EternalMyrtle is on a distinguished road
Re: Multi-Column Report

Can you post your report with dummy data?

I do this all the time. Here is how I do it:

Depending on the complexity of my report, I use the group function to create a separate header bar for all of my headings. I remove the one I want centered from the layout and put it above the others. Then I make the text box big enough to span the whole width of the columns. Then use the center text option in Home>Fonts. It works for me but there are probably many ways to do this.

Hope this helps.
EternalMyrtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 05:20 AM   #5
jsic1210
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 188
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jsic1210 is on a distinguished road
Re: Multi-Column Report

EternalMyrtle,

Sorry for the delay, but I put this project aside for a while. I'm able to span the report header across multiple columns, but not group headers. Are you saying you create a group header using an expression as opposed to a specific field?

Thanks,
Jeff
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Keep Calm and Chive On!
jsic1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 06:49 AM   #6
EternalMyrtle
I'm still alive
 
EternalMyrtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Trap door in the sun
Posts: 533
Thanks: 120
Thanked 67 Times in 66 Posts
EternalMyrtle is on a distinguished road
Re: Multi-Column Report

Here is a simplified example. Is this similar to what you are attempting to do? If not, perhaps you can post your report and table so I can see.

Hope this helps.
Attached Files
File Type: accdb Example.accdb (500.0 KB, 154 views)
EternalMyrtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:01 AM   #7
jsic1210
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 188
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jsic1210 is on a distinguished road
Re: Multi-Column Report

No, I have multiple columns in the report (Page Setup > Columns: Number of Columns: 2, Across, then down). I'm using it as a sub-report, so that's why it's Across then down.
I've attached a dummy database. The group header is City, so I want the city name to span across multiple columns, but as you can see in Print Preview, the city names get cut off going into the second column.
Attached Files
File Type: accdb Weekly Report Distribution List.accdb (1.31 MB, 134 views)

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Keep Calm and Chive On!

Last edited by jsic1210; 09-04-2013 at 07:04 AM. Reason: Left out detail
jsic1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:15 AM   #8
EternalMyrtle
I'm still alive
 
EternalMyrtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Trap door in the sun
Posts: 533
Thanks: 120
Thanked 67 Times in 66 Posts
EternalMyrtle is on a distinguished road
Re: Multi-Column Report

Yes, I get it now. The problem is with the multiple column layout in page setup for printing. I thought that by "column", you were simply referring to the report controls as "columns" since they are technically columns in your table.

Unfortunately, I have tried using the multiple column layout in page setup and have not had much success getting it to look the way I'd like it to look so I cannot help you.

Sorry!
EternalMyrtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:19 AM   #9
jsic1210
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 188
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
jsic1210 is on a distinguished road
Re: Multi-Column Report

No problem, I had that feeling. Thanks for looking into it!
Another problem I'm having with that report is that each group is printing on a separate page. Do you know if there's a way to fix this? I have Force New Page set to No.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Keep Calm and Chive On!
jsic1210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:26 AM   #10
EternalMyrtle
I'm still alive
 
EternalMyrtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Trap door in the sun
Posts: 533
Thanks: 120
Thanked 67 Times in 66 Posts
EternalMyrtle is on a distinguished road
Re: Multi-Column Report

Perhaps this will help: http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/ac...001156534.aspx

EternalMyrtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
columns , header , reports

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi Column Report - show first column only once bharlow Reports 4 07-20-2010 10:55 AM
Multi-column Report, How???? wrek Reports 2 11-27-2003 01:18 PM
[SOLVED] Multi-Column Report, Down then Over KniteMare Reports 0 05-12-2003 05:51 AM
Multi Column Report Headers yippie_ky_yay Reports 2 12-06-2002 07:42 AM
[SOLVED] Multi-column Report pponchamni Reports 1 03-05-2001 04:22 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World