Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Queries

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-25-2017, 10:01 AM   #1
uhlik
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
uhlik is on a distinguished road
Splited database query problem.

My Access database is linked to Oracle and I use query to insert data to local table but also to display some corresponding data from Oracle in the continuous form.
It was very useful when inserting manually product indexes, allows to avoid mistakes and was a confirmation of product "Active" status.
It worked very similar to Excel's vlookup, so when user insert index, after Tab press it displays read only description and status in the next two columns.
After datbase split because of multiuser access we lost that funcionality.
Is there any way to restore it?

Regards,
Michał

uhlik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 10:20 AM   #2
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 14,507
Thanks: 92
Thanked 1,670 Times in 1,551 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Splited database query problem.

In theory, if the split was performed correctly (meaning that the links are good), you should not really be able to tell from a session that you are in a split or a non-split database. I.e. the split should be transparent. From the front end, you ARE still the only user of the database (based on file locking and object locking considerations). It is only when you touch the back end that you face potential contention and locking.

That it is NOT transparent suggests that something is wrong with the way the split occurred. When you split, did the "local table" move to the back end? Does the front end retain the database link to ORACLE? Did you work to minimize lock exposure by either setting "Optimistic Locking" (where that is a consideration for front-end queries) or "MIN LOCKS" (which is an ORACLE consideration)?
__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 10:55 AM   #3
uhlik
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
uhlik is on a distinguished road
Re: Splited database query problem.

All the tables, local and 2 linked are in one file, the second file are Queries, Forms and Modules, it is not compiled yet.
The splitting ran smoothly, it's about 1,5k records so far. The Queries RecordLocks property was set to Edited Record.

uhlik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
oracle , query <> problem , split

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Splited Database not working correctly jdcallejas General 6 06-07-2015 11:35 AM
Sharing splited database syedadnan General 5 11-25-2013 09:53 PM
splited database jmilki General 3 10-19-2012 05:44 AM
Access Web database on Sharepoint, Problem with Query Criteria giorgospsk Queries 1 12-05-2011 08:52 AM
splited bases and table-type Recordset pirena Modules & VBA 0 01-21-2010 02:30 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World