Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2018, 01:24 AM   #16
Gasman
Enthusiastic Amateur
 
Gasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Swansea, South Wales,UK
Posts: 4,332
Thanks: 432
Thanked 790 Times in 766 Posts
Gasman is a jewel in the rough Gasman is a jewel in the rough Gasman is a jewel in the rough
Re: Put value from query in form field, no result and flickering field

Sorry Pat, I'd have to disagree here, despite being a novice.

You probably write your SQL yourself, but if you use the design grid and then use totals, Access creates that alias. I can tell as I have had that in the past and recognised the format?. That is why I mentioned in post 11 that (really Access) had named the field as that.?

So that was the default name that Access gave to the calcualted field.?

Code:
SELECT tblTransferFee.TWMPaid, Sum(tblTransferFee.AppliedAmount) AS SumOfAppliedAmount
FROM tblTransferFee
GROUP BY tblTransferFee.TWMPaid;
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat Hartman View Post
You're welcome but it is important to understand what happened.

Access didn't do this, you did!!!

AS SumOfCountOfitem_ID

Is an alias. However, If you hadn't given the calculated value a specific name, Access would have given it a default name. EVERY column MUST have a unique name even a calculated one. Otherwise, how would you refer to it?

__________________
Access novice. Sometimes trying to give something back.
Access 2007

Please, please use code tag # when posting code snippets

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2018, 08:37 AM   #17
Pat Hartman
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stratford,Ct USA
Posts: 28,249
Thanks: 15
Thanked 1,591 Times in 1,511 Posts
Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all Pat Hartman is a name known to all
Re: Put value from query in form field, no result and flickering field

Quote:
Access creates that alias.
I did say that:
Quote:
If you hadn't given the calculated value a specific name, Access would have given it a default name.
You only read the first part of my comment. In this case, the poster provided the alias. You can see it in the SQL he posted:

SELECT Sum(ASV_ENDofDAY_itemcount.CountOfitem_ID) AS SumOfCountOfitem_ID
FROM ASV_ENDofDAY_itemcount;

You might have me on a technicality though. I was only looking at the string and saw an alias so it didn't register that Access would have assigned the exact same name.
__________________
Bridge Players Still Know All the Tricks
Pat Hartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2018, 09:53 AM   #18
Gasman
Enthusiastic Amateur
 
Gasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Swansea, South Wales,UK
Posts: 4,332
Thanks: 432
Thanked 790 Times in 766 Posts
Gasman is a jewel in the rough Gasman is a jewel in the rough Gasman is a jewel in the rough
Re: Put value from query in form field, no result and flickering field

Sorry Pat,

I was reading that as if you were saying the o/p created the alias and not Access.

I was under the impression that Access did it and that is why the O/P did not notice the difference in name.

Although in a previous post to my query, it was stated that was checked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat Hartman View Post
I did say that:

You only read the first part of my comment. In this case, the poster provided the alias. You can see it in the SQL he posted:

SELECT Sum(ASV_ENDofDAY_itemcount.CountOfitem_ID) AS SumOfCountOfitem_ID
FROM ASV_ENDofDAY_itemcount;

You might have me on a technicality though. I was only looking at the string and saw an alias so it didn't register that Access would have assigned the exact same name.


__________________
Access novice. Sometimes trying to give something back.
Access 2007

Please, please use code tag # when posting code snippets

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Gasman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
field , flickering , form , query , results

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiplying form field with query result Chrisqld Forms 6 12-28-2016 03:44 AM
Displaying a Query Result in Form field? jamiesuperman420 Queries 2 11-21-2008 11:42 AM
query result in a form field eddy Forms 2 09-24-2007 12:09 PM
Form Field value updated from a Query result ViRi Forms 1 06-15-2006 01:49 PM
Pop up form has one field and needs result of query JimJones Forms 2 05-19-2003 10:04 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World