Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > General

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2019, 08:35 AM   #1
Jonny
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 136
Thanks: 76
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Jonny is on a distinguished road
Maintaining database on remote

I have built a database to some customer, now need to maintanence it on remote.
What is the best way to do that? Caspio or equivallents are not the option.

Jonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 09:20 AM   #2
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 11,326
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,666 Times in 3,535 Posts
CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Maintaining database on remote

Depends on what you mean by maintenance - if you mean you will be doing things like fixing problems, undertaking installation etc, your customer needs to allow you remote access so you can connect through remote desktop. Failing that you can use something like skype or zoom - but that requires the customer to be present to grant you access.

If you mean you have an updated front end - then in principle you can just email it for the customer to install.
__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 09:28 AM   #3
Jonny
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 136
Thanks: 76
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Jonny is on a distinguished road
Re: Maintaining database on remote

I wish to be able to create a new queries, forms, e.t.c for him. Am I alone in this world who maintains databases to his customers or am I missing something?

Jonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 10:02 AM   #4
pbaldy
Wino Moderator
 
pbaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 33,247
Thanks: 13
Thanked 4,102 Times in 4,034 Posts
pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold pbaldy is a splendid one to behold
Re: Maintaining database on remote

I suspect the two major methods are remoting into their computer as CJ mentions (Teamviewer, etc) or making the changes on your computer and sending the customer the new front end. You can replicate their environment so they don't have to relink or provide relinking code. I've used all of those methods.
__________________
Paul
Microsoft Access MVP 2007-2019

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pbaldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 10:03 AM   #5
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 11,326
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,666 Times in 3,535 Posts
CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Maintaining database on remote

You have a copy, make the changes in your copy of the fe and send it to the customer.

Quote:
Am I alone in this world who maintains databases to his customers or am I missing something?
No - I maintain my client databases

In all cases I have the master copy and make changes to that then either:

Send the client a copy via email
use remote desktop to install it myself
use skype/zoom to install via that instead

Other options I've used in the past similar to skype/zoom are teamviewer and jump desktop

I also use last 2 methods when a client asks for a one-off requirement outside the scope of the app I provided.

Oh, and I have one client who is only 20 mins away - I have remote desktop for them but occasionally will pop round and work on one of their machines.

I sometimes wrap the app up in an installer package for new apps - depends on the requirements.

How do you imagine you would support your client?
__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 10:54 AM   #6
Jonny
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 136
Thanks: 76
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Jonny is on a distinguished road
Re: Maintaining database on remote

For instance Excel has a web equivallent called Google Sheets.
Is there something similar for Access?
Jonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 12:23 PM   #7
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 5,597
Thanks: 56
Thanked 1,232 Times in 1,213 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Maintaining database on remote

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny View Post
For instance Excel has a web equivallent called Google Sheets.
Is there something similar for Access?
Sort of, it's called SharePoint.

__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to theDBguy For This Useful Post:
Jonny (10-11-2019)
Old 10-11-2019, 01:44 PM   #8
CJ_London
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 11,326
Thanks: 40
Thanked 3,666 Times in 3,535 Posts
CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light CJ_London is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Maintaining database on remote

google sheets is nowhere near as powerful as a desktop excel - about the equivalent of office 365 online excel. However you can combine it with Google Forms

There is no real equivalent to access but here is a link with some suggestions

https://www.hyperoffice.com/blog/201...-alternatives/

It includes Caspio which you have said is not an option so not sure whether they are relevant. In any event you would need to start from scratch since there is no way to convert something developed in Access.

If it is only the backend you are maintaining then another option would be SQL Azure but that is only the BE, does not include forms/reports

if you want free then take a look at this link

https://www.makeuseof.com/tag/5-easy...rosoft-access/

however not sure how or if these can be maintained remotely. Libra Office looks like a possibility - talks about Base making websites

__________________
CJ_London
_______________________
A little thanks goes a long way. If you have found this post useful, please tick the thanks button
CJ_London is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to CJ_London For This Useful Post:
Jonny (10-11-2019)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maintaining and updating a database. equaliser General 1 12-06-2006 01:55 PM
Opening a remote database from the switchboard of another database poet1234 Modules & VBA 2 10-04-2006 11:37 AM
maintaining database with access 2003 neous General 3 04-06-2006 02:50 AM
Remote database dbalargin General 3 07-30-2003 05:43 AM
Updating database server as well as maintaining a copy on client aurosunil Forms 0 02-09-2003 05:35 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World