Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Modules & VBA

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2005, 11:48 AM   #1
krberube
just beyond new
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
krberube is on a distinguished road
open excel & have access wait for excel to close

Good afternoon all,
If I place some code to export a table to Excel, open excel so a person can do something, then close excel.

will my access code wait for excel to close before the code continues running?

If not, what would a good way to code this "wait" into the event?

Thanks
Kevin

krberube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 07:16 PM   #2
ghudson
Newly Registered User
 
ghudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 6,199
Thanks: 1
Thanked 87 Times in 49 Posts
ghudson has a spectacular aura about ghudson has a spectacular aura about ghudson has a spectacular aura about
Why do you need to do that? You should be able to update the data within Access, not having to use Excel for the user to make adjustments.

Search for the keyword WAIT for I have seen a few related threads.
__________________
.................................................. ......
Searching this forum or Microsoft.com or MSDN.com or Google is a great way to discover and learn the answers to your Access programming questions.

Well if it seems to be real, it's illusion...

I am using Access 2010 with Windows 7

The
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
function on this forum really does work.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

.................................................. ......
ghudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2005, 08:41 PM   #3
modest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: VA, United States
Posts: 1,220
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
modest is on a distinguished road
"Sleep" or "pause" is another thing you can search for. I'm also curious why you would want to wait for excel to close.

__________________
APP- A97/2K/XP/2K3
OS- Home: XPP Work: W2K/XPP

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
If someone has helped you, please add to their reputation by clicking on the icon that looks like weigh-scales on the top right of their post
modest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 05:54 AM   #4
krberube
just beyond new
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
krberube is on a distinguished road
I seem to have alot of trouble doing graphs in access, at least getting them to look the way management wants them. I found that by exporting the data to excel, changing the data a little (graph is updates by itself), saving the .xls file. Then show the excel graph in the access report it works quite well.

I would like to do this until I can come up to speed with the access graph program, which seems to be abit tricky.

So I guess I need to code something to make it wait. No problem I think

Thanks
krberube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 06:57 AM   #5
modest
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: VA, United States
Posts: 1,220
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
modest is on a distinguished road
I've never fiddled with what you speak of, but if you're "creating" the graph from Access through Excel... meaning, if you the code to make the graph is done through Access's VBA, then you shouldn't have to wait.

However if you're just sending the data to Excel and manually making the graph or if you're using Excel's VBA to make the graph, then yes you would have to wait.

So I guess the question comes down to: how are you making the graph?


Here is some basic logic you could use in access:

1. Open Excel
2. Transfer Data
3. Create Graph
4. Save Excel
5. Get graph from Excel
6. Close Excel
7. Continue with Program
__________________
APP- A97/2K/XP/2K3
OS- Home: XPP Work: W2K/XPP

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
If someone has helped you, please add to their reputation by clicking on the icon that looks like weigh-scales on the top right of their post
modest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 07:15 AM   #6
krberube
just beyond new
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
krberube is on a distinguished road
Modest:
you have it correct. I Believe it to be pretty straight forward to do.

Thanks

krberube is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mouse Scroll Xenix Forms 2 10-08-2006 08:12 PM
Data transfer from Access to Excel problem geralf General 4 05-31-2004 02:56 AM
Transmitting Record information From Access to Excel Mordhel General 7 11-22-2002 11:49 AM
Just learning, need to have Access open an excel file sondriven General 8 06-19-2002 02:11 PM
Close Access97 Open Sessions and Then Close Database- new twist llyal Modules & VBA 2 04-11-2000 04:07 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World