thanks again crake. i have since educated myself on the 10 commandments.
Am i right in thinking then that if the db is split that the users no longer have shortcuts on their pc's to the db but actually have the FE db stored locally on their pc's.
Isn't this a bit of a pain in the ass if you make any updates?? or am i getting this wrong and the shortcut to the FE still applies?