Go Back   Access World Forums > Apps and Windows > Web Design and Development > ASP and ASP.NET

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2017, 05:03 AM   #1
JosephWeb
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JosephWeb is on a distinguished road
ASP issue with updating Boolean field

Hi I have a very old MSAccess database driven website with the code written in what I understand to be classic ASP. Im not a programmer, but over the years I have worked out little bits and pieces.

I have a table and am using the free Generic ASP Editor for Access Tables
called editor.asp You can download it from the 4 guys from Rolla website.

There is a section at the top where you have to enter the path to the database and the table name and a TrueWord which will be used for the boolean values.

their support document says this must be: "The word your version of Microsoft Access is using to display boolean "True" values. This mainly depends on the OS language or regional settings of your server. If all components are English, the value usually is "True". On my server, with the German version of Windows 98, the value needs to be "Wahr"."

Ive set it to True as this is what all the True values set in the database are using. Should this be anything else? I have tried using -1 and TRUE and even WAHR but nothing seems to work... What should it be for an English Database?

My main question is that I can list the values in the access table using this editor, I can delete entries and I can add entries that are set to True in the Boolean field, but they are not recognised on the website for some reason and if I edit them, they automatically change from True to False in the Boolean fields, even if I do not edit this value. (I can force it in the code to set to True regardless of what I enter in the field if needs be)

This means that any new entries that I put in the database (even if they show up as True (in the set it live on the website field) do not show up for some reason?

(I have another version of this using the same sort of database and the same code and it works fine on that site.)

I would be grateful for any help with cracking this.

JosephWeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 05:32 AM   #2
Ranman256
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: KY,USA
Posts: 3,334
Thanks: 0
Thanked 735 Times in 720 Posts
Ranman256 will become famous soon enough Ranman256 will become famous soon enough
Re: ASP issue with updating Boolean field

the field works, but I dont know about this ASP app. That may be the problem.
Ranman256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 06:22 AM   #3
sneuberg
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 3,506
Thanks: 362
Thanked 975 Times in 943 Posts
sneuberg will become famous soon enough sneuberg will become famous soon enough
Re: ASP issue with updating Boolean field

Quote:
Ive set it to True as this is what all the True values set in the database are using. Should this be anything else? I have tried using -1 and TRUE and even WAHR but nothing seems to work... What should it be for an English Database?
I don't know but you could try "Yes"

__________________
And now nothing will be restrained from them, which they have imagined to do. Genesis 11:6

Steve
sneuberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 02:52 PM   #4
JosephWeb
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
JosephWeb is on a distinguished road
Re: ASP issue with updating Boolean field

Thanks for your suggestions, it seems it was something to do with the database itself. I copied over the version from th4 website that was working and it all worked perfectly.
Thanks again...

JosephWeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conditionnal formatting vs Yes/No Boolean field sly Forms 6 12-22-2010 08:21 AM
alter a boolean field from no to yes with VBA Lanser Modules & VBA 1 05-11-2010 08:46 AM
Set Boolean field to true after printing... dazza61 Reports 2 06-13-2007 09:41 AM
Setting a boolean field using code Keith Nichols Modules & VBA 13 07-02-2006 06:58 PM
Updating a boolean field Maldrid Queries 3 08-05-2003 06:33 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:26 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World