Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Forms

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-19-2019, 06:34 PM   #1
InFlight
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Masterton, New Zealand
Posts: 105
Thanks: 38
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
InFlight is on a distinguished road
Question Split form record selectors

Is it possible to hide the record selectors on a datasheet in a split form.
They have a + and when you click on them it shows the sub form which i don't want them to use through the datasheet as it has code on some of the fields.
Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Splitform.jpg (65.8 KB, 30 views)

InFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 08:18 PM   #2
June7
AWF VIP
 
June7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: The Great Land
Posts: 2,450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 571 Times in 567 Posts
June7 will become famous soon enough June7 will become famous soon enough
Re: Split form record selectors

I am not getting the + because there is no subform on split form.

If you don't want users to see subform then why have one? You want them to edit subform only from single record section? I don't think the + can be eliminated when there is a subform nor record selectors turned off in datasheet section.
__________________
Attach File Manager is below Advanced editor window, click Go Advanced below Quick Reply window. To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.
DEBUG! DEBUG! DEBUG!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by June7; 07-19-2019 at 08:32 PM.
June7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 08:22 PM   #3
Micron
AWF VIP
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,191
Thanks: 10
Thanked 226 Times in 214 Posts
Micron has a spectacular aura about Micron has a spectacular aura about
Re: Split form record selectors

that image looks like that of a table with a sub datasheet. If I cycle record selectors on/off on a split form, they only show/not show on the single record portion and not the data sheet portion. I don't think I've ever seen + and - signs on a split form. I don't see record selectors in your image either. Taking all that in consideration, are you sure what you've posted is an image of a split form?
EDIT - if you said this was a sub form where the source object was a table instead of a query, and that table had a sub datasheet, then that might explain it. However, I don't think I have ever constructed that combination.

__________________
Sometimes I just roll my eyes out loud...
Windows 10; Office 365 (Access 2016)
Micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 08:34 PM   #4
June7
AWF VIP
 
June7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: The Great Land
Posts: 2,450
Thanks: 0
Thanked 571 Times in 567 Posts
June7 will become famous soon enough June7 will become famous soon enough
Re: Split form record selectors

@Micron, a subform on split form is possible and the +/- will display in datasheet section, exactly as shown in the image.
__________________
Attach File Manager is below Advanced editor window, click Go Advanced below Quick Reply window. To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.
DEBUG! DEBUG! DEBUG!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
June7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 09:05 PM   #5
InFlight
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Masterton, New Zealand
Posts: 105
Thanks: 38
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
InFlight is on a distinguished road
Re: Split form record selectors

I have a main form on which is 3 sub forms.
These are selected by the labels at the top
Exhibitors, Birds an memberships.
Pics attached.

Users click in the split form to get the exhibitor then fill in the data as required

when the + is clicked the pic "subform" is what happens. in a table it would show the exhibitors birds.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Birds.jpg (102.6 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg Exhibitors.jpg (101.2 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg Memberships.jpg (74.5 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg subform.jpg (103.2 KB, 19 views)
InFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 09:09 PM   #6
arnelgp
error reading drive A:
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 8,569
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,630 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Split form record selectors

no possible to program that part.
its for table view only and it is not a split form.
its a sub datasheet.

you can remove it on table design.
blank out the Subdatasheet Name on the property sheet.
__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 09:16 PM   #7
InFlight
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Masterton, New Zealand
Posts: 105
Thanks: 38
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
InFlight is on a distinguished road
Re: Split form record selectors

Quote:
blank out the Subdatasheet Name on the property sheet.
How would i do that

InFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 09:25 PM   #8
arnelgp
error reading drive A:
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 8,569
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,630 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Split form record selectors

on design view of your table->Property Sheet.
__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 09:38 PM   #9
InFlight
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Masterton, New Zealand
Posts: 105
Thanks: 38
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
InFlight is on a distinguished road
Re: Split form record selectors

I set it to none, but didn't work
InFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 09:51 PM   #10
arnelgp
error reading drive A:
 
arnelgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: somewhere out there
Posts: 8,569
Thanks: 68
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,630 Posts
arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice arnelgp is just really nice
Re: Split form record selectors

is it the correct table coz I just tested it.
__________________
"Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching"
arnelgp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 09:01 AM   #11
theDBguy
Iím here to help
 
theDBguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SunnySandyEggo
Posts: 6,426
Thanks: 58
Thanked 1,409 Times in 1,390 Posts
theDBguy has a spectacular aura about theDBguy has a spectacular aura about
Re: Split form record selectors

Quote:
Originally Posted by InFlight View Post
I have a main form on which is 3 sub forms.
These are selected by the labels at the top
Exhibitors, Birds an memberships.
Pics attached.

Users click in the split form to get the exhibitor then fill in the data as required

when the + is clicked the pic "subform" is what happens. in a table it would show the exhibitors birds.
Hi. The closest thing I could suggest is to set the Subdatasheet Height property to 0.0007"


Hope it helps...
__________________
Just my 2 cents...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
theDBguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 03:11 PM   #12
InFlight
User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Masterton, New Zealand
Posts: 105
Thanks: 38
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
InFlight is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: Split form record selectors

I did try with a list box but got a few errors and problems. I will try again
Thanks every one

InFlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot Use Record Selectors in Filtered Form NadiaVKhan Forms 14 03-31-2017 09:33 AM
record selectors on a form LOUISBUHAGIAR54 Forms 7 06-06-2012 11:36 AM
report and form record selectors dulija Reports 9 03-18-2008 09:13 AM
Open form with record selectors on or off. BukHix Forms 2 11-20-2001 09:34 AM
Showing Record Count (Not record selectors) on a form Graham T Forms 2 11-05-2001 10:24 AM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World