Go Back   Access World Forums > Microsoft Access Discussion > Modules & VBA

 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2019, 05:26 PM   #1
HillTJ
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Tropical North Australia
Posts: 126
Thanks: 50
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
HillTJ is on a distinguished road
Access Front End Auto Updating.

Hi,

I've installed a utility by Bob Larson (BTABDevelopments) to enable auto updating of front end applications. Install appeared to work, but I could not complete the following step.

6. From the FRONT-END, you MUST set a link to the 'tbl-version_fe_master' in your backend database. If you do not, the process will not work. To link, click File / Get External Data / Link Tables and then browse to the back-end database. Select it and click LINK button. Find 'tbl-version_fe_master.' select it and click OK.

I could not browse to & select the BE database!

Anyone got any experience with this?

Appreciate it.

HillTJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 06:28 PM   #2
June7
Newly Registered User
 
June7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,019
Thanks: 0
Thanked 481 Times in 477 Posts
June7 will become famous soon enough June7 will become famous soon enough
Re: Access Front End Auto Updating.

Never had a problem linking tables. However, I use VBA to reset table links so I can use UNC path.
__________________
Attach File Manager is below Advanced editor window, click Go Advanced below Quick Reply window. To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.
DEBUG! DEBUG! DEBUG!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
June7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 09:31 PM   #3
The_Doc_Man
Happy Retired Curmudgeon
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Suburban New Orleans, LA, USA
Posts: 14,067
Thanks: 81
Thanked 1,592 Times in 1,478 Posts
The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold The_Doc_Man is a splendid one to behold
Re: Access Front End Auto Updating.

Quote:
I could not browse to & select the BE database!
This implies some issues in either the mapping itself (perhaps via a drive letter conflict) or the security (permissions) associated with that mapping.

However, I'm a bit confused. If you could not get to the BE file, how did you get the FE file? From where did IT come? Was it not in the same folder as the BE?

__________________
I'm a certified grandpa (3 times now) and proud of it.
Retired over one year and survived being home all day with the wife. She must really love me.
If I have helped you, please either click the thanks or click the scales.
The_Doc_Man is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 09:35 PM   #4
HillTJ
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Tropical North Australia
Posts: 126
Thanks: 50
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
HillTJ is on a distinguished road
Re: Access Front End Auto Updating.

June7, thanks, but the problem seems to be that I cannot browse to the BE tables using the inbuilt install utility as described in the instructions reproduced in the original post. It all seemed pretty straight forward!!..Cheers. Do you know how I can fix this?
HillTJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 09:52 PM   #5
June7
Newly Registered User
 
June7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 2,019
Thanks: 0
Thanked 481 Times in 477 Posts
June7 will become famous soon enough June7 will become famous soon enough
Re: Access Front End Auto Updating.

Cannot reproduce issue so have no idea how to fix.

If you can browse to the folder with Windows Explorer then should be able to in Access.
__________________
Attach File Manager is below Advanced editor window, click Go Advanced below Quick Reply window. To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.
DEBUG! DEBUG! DEBUG!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
June7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2019, 07:53 PM   #6
HillTJ
Newly Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Tropical North Australia
Posts: 126
Thanks: 50
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
HillTJ is on a distinguished road
Re: Access Front End Auto Updating.

All, Got it going & works real well. Problem appeared to be some kind of incompatibility between 32bit (the version I wrote the application in) & 64bit (installed on one of the networked PC's) versions of Access. After replacing the 64Bit version with 32Bit version all worked sweet. I don't understand the differences, but happy days. The project continues..... Thanks to all.

HillTJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about using the Access Front-end Auto-Updating Utility MSAccessRookie Forms 9 07-31-2008 02:44 PM
Access Front-end Auto-Updating Utility boblarson Sample Databases 22 12-21-2007 11:53 PM
Access Front-end Auto-Updating Utility problem paindivine Modules & VBA 0 01-04-2007 12:17 PM
Access Front-end Auto-Updating Utility murfeezlaw Modules & VBA 1 12-05-2006 07:34 AM
auto updating the front end Jon123 General 5 09-07-2003 08:50 PM




All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Microsoft Access Help
General
Tables
Queries
Forms
Reports
Macros
Modules & VBA
Theory & Practice
Access FAQs
Code Repository
Sample Databases
Video Tutorials

Featured Forum post


Sponsored Links


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) copyright 2017 Access World